Home General Discussion

Marmoset vs UDK for a portfolio

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
JonathanLambert polycounter lvl 6
How important is it to show portfolio assets in an actual engine vs Marmoset? I'm new to game art and I'm in the process of learning UDK but Marmoset is an excellent tool for showing off assets. Is it OK to put Marmoset renders on a portfolio site or would that be considered a bullshot by those doing the hiring?

Replies

• NoChance
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    As far as I understand marmoset is a real time renderer which is the biggest thing when showing off assets. It's not like your doing a 10 minute render with mental ray or some nonsense like that it's being rendered out in real time like any other game engine would. That being said there is a definite upside knowing your way around UDK and other game engines, but if you just want to to quick shots of a prop there's nothing wrong with using marmoset.
  • crazyfingers
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    crazyfingers polycounter lvl 10
    Use marmoset. It's a portfolio, you need your assets to look as nice as possible.
  • Mio
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mio polycounter lvl 13
  • Kwramm
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kwramm interpolator
    visually both can be great. But if I see even the faintest UDK skills on a resume I'm more happy (especially for env people this could make a difference)
  • Autocon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Autocon polycounter lvl 15
    For props/characters - Marmoset (or other realtime 3d shader like Laurens) since the results look better then UDK.

For environments - UDK
  • JacqueChoi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JacqueChoi polycounter
    I would say it doesn't really matter.