Home General Discussion

For those of you in the industry, how many hours a week ?

This is just out of curiosity, I am estimating around 60 hours non crunch time. It could be a present, or past company, you don't need to post the names either. With that being said how many hours do you work a week typically? This is a supplemental post to my other thread if any of you read that Breaking into the industry: school vs self taught

I am curious because I am engaged, and my fianc

Replies

• Tom Ellis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Im not in the industry, but there have been some similar threads recently, I would imagine you're going to get answers along the following lines:

Hours vary depending on project and how far into a project.

And

If you want it enough, then job > fianc
  • TheWinterLord
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    TheWinterLord polycounter lvl 17
    45 hours. 8-17 or 9-18 5 days a week.

Yeh this is me. (not some average i got somewhere) sometimes i stay longer because its fun. I think its pretty easy to balance work and social life, I have it good. :)
  • Perfectblue
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Im not in the industry, but there have been some similar threads recently, I would imagine you're going to get answers along the following lines:

Hours vary depending on project and how far into a project.

And

• chrisradsby
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    chrisradsby polycounter lvl 14
    Well during crunch we had around 55-70 hours a week, you get burned out very quickly and you stop appriciating the work you're doing. Right now I have normal hours, I work from

09.00 -> 17:30
    (I have 2 hours travel a day to get to and from work though, so I still don't get home until 18:45)
  • moof
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    moof polycounter lvl 7
    If people are spending 12 hours every day working, you're probably getting 4-5 hours of actual work done a day out of them.