Home General Discussion

Breaking into the Industry: School Vs Self Taught

I am very much at a cross roads in life. At the moment I am working on a portfolio for SMU Guildhall, and I am conflicted if its worth taking on the $58,000 in tuition loans, or keep on pushing myself through my own learning, trial and error, and online tutorials. Many users here are very critical of game schools, although this one in particular seems to have a good reputation. The $58k becomes less of an issue assuming I actually get a job out from graduation, and I have about 20k out of my savings I am willing to put towards it right off the bat before interest.

If I do go through with it and apply, I am going in with the attitude the school will teach me very little (although I suspect it will), so that I will keep up with the self teaching. What really interest me about the school is the excellent networking opportunities, and their 90-95% placement of graduates at good studios. I am not foolish, nor naive enough to think for a minute that "guaranteeing" a job. Improving on my own time may get me there, but it leaves alot of uncertainty to me, where as the school would make me feel more comfortable with the networking opportunities, this is all of course assuming the portfolio is up to snuff to begin with.

Another issue is the horror stories I hear about the industry, specifically time. I love my fianc

Replies

• Perfectblue
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    DKK wrote: »
    You're already really good, betwixt Polycount and the Wiki you can learn everything else you might need to know. And completing a couple pieces all the way into game engines would make for a good enough folio to get a gig.

If you know the school will teach you nothing you won't or haven't already got online, then why bother? You have Polycount and Linked In for networking. Except It seems they have a Mocap studio, which could be really beneficial.