Home Contests & Challenges Archives UT Master Challenge: Concept Art

UTMC - Mystic Space Castles

Hello everyone! I'm new to concepting, and not nearly as fast or as inventive as some of the others here but I love UT and particularly the original 99 version. So with that, I'd love to help out on designing what the next UT looks like, and maybe give some ideas along the way for the devs to play with

Now that that's over with I'm going to try to explain my process and what was going on inside my head. I'm going to try to focus on refining one idea so I don't bite off more than I can chew. However I'm going to be doing a lot of variation within the idea itself so I can chip away on what I want.

Phase 1. What do I want to shoot for?

I've always been captivated by oriental architecture, and I know that oriental themes have been done before in UT3 however I wanted to go for a more fantasy direction. What I'll end up with is anyone's guess.

Phase 2. Loose paint over, establishing a mood. In my head I could see this as a fancy garden with sun shining brightly in over head.
t430Xca.jpg
y11DSM5.jpg

Phase 3. Fill the space
sjfpfdv.jpg
4963D0I.jpg

QAsCpXg.jpg

Phase 4. Tone the visual noise down

Even though it's been said that we aren't designing levels, I can't help but think of how the player would interact and started clearing out areas to move around. That tree thing had to go... My main inspiration as I begin to cut the walls exposing cliffsides is one of my favorite UT99 maps, Peak.

2B11V4X.jpg
pF0yefj.jpg
4c4vkpM.jpg
1yvempH.jpg
3lUcR8H.jpg
bq2V115.jpg
THyQDmn.jpg

Idea's worth noting explored in this phase were the concept of traps as the phoenix chamber would slam shut frying everyone inside and above. Other stuff besides just different level flow concepting.

Phase 5. Planning.