Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

My first steps in game art

Hey out there,

I'm totally new to the subject and came into painting/concepting and texture art via the Dota 2 workshop. I'm currently making my first steps and wanted to share them with you in order to recieve honest and badass polycount feedback. I will be using this thread as a little overwatch of my progression (as far as there will be any :p).

So here we go, with my very first texture set ever made - for a dagger for Slark of Dota 2 (AO,Diffuse,3pointlight):

6QM2i

Outcome:

6QM23
And the obligatory barrel, everyone has to go through obviously as my 2nd piece ever made (Diffuse only):

6QMik

Outcome:

6QMlJ

Whanks for watching!

Replies

• Holland
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Holland polycounter lvl 9
    Hi Rock, i don't see any pictures at the moment.
  • rock
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Oh really? I can see them just fine hmm..

Edit: Should work now I guess.
  • lotet
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    lotet hero character
    hey looks great! esp if you havnt been doing this for a while.
    the handle of the blade looks great! the actual blade looks a bit weird, look at reference for metal next time, or 3D versions of it that you like, and try to mimic that.
    right now the handle looks kinda World of Warcraft and the blade looks kind of call of duty.

another thing, you have a very high contrast in your textures, it makes it look almost cartoony/borderlands. its almost like your AO is a black ink line. Dont go overboard with the shading in the diffuse, get some mid values in there :)

Good luck!
  • Arkana
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Arkana polycounter lvl 8
    I really love the look of that barrel. The blade kind of looks like it's made of concrete though.
  • Pixelatedkiwi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Pixelatedkiwi polycounter