Home General Discussion

Ddo or Substance designer

Hi
I am new in this and I have been watching videos about both programs.
but I can't understand the difference between both and which is best to start learning.

Replies

• NegevPro
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    NegevPro polycounter lvl 4
    I would say it depends on whether or not you plan on picking up Substance Painter when that comes out. SD and SP are designed to be used together and I'm sure many would prefer using that combination over dDo.

Ultimately, the main factor that will determine which tool you use will most likely be how comfortable you are using each tool. I watched a ton of videos on both dDo and SD and I've done a lot of experimenting and practice with both, but I just can't get used to the node based workflow of SD. I personally prefer dDo but once Substance Painter drops I'll likely change my mind.

Good luck picking a tool!
  • rogelio
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    rogelio greentooth
    My preference is Substance Designer

dDo / nDo are mostly just awesome PS plugins. Which gives you the ability to do a lot but is pretty restricted at times with the end results. I like some stuff in dDo and the quality it has shown for texture creation.

dDo is also far easier to learn since it is integrated with photoshop very well. It is a tool initially started as complex recorded actions inside photoshop and later got modified into an actual semi robust tool set.

I think it is a great side tool at times...

I have not gone back to dDo or nDo at all. I have even left crazybump forever in the dust and have not looked back.