Home General Discussion

The Hobbit

Replies

• PixelMasher
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PixelMasher veteran polycounter
    yea that azog stuff kinda bugged me how it was just so CG. the Uruks in LOTR looked awesome because of wetas makeup and practical fx for the most part. Boromirs death would have been lame if sean bean was just thrashing around with nothing to react/act with. oh, 10 year old spoiler alert I guess.

and yea, smaug looked super generic/bad. I like the color pallete though for the trailer, but then again it reinforces the cartoon vibe.
  • Bigjohn
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bigjohn polycounter lvl 11
    So here's a little pet peeve of mine. It really bothers me, and maybe this is just because I'm a character artist, that they mess up the color of the eyebrows on these characters.

it-s-official-orlando-bloom-joins-the-hobbit.jpg

Way too dark relative to his hair color.

If I had one wish, I'd love to be the Eyebrow Czar on the Hobbit and set all the eyebrows straight.
  • almighty_gir
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    almighty_gir ngon master
    i'm right there with you Bigjohn.
  • Steve Schulze
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Steve Schulze polycounter lvl 18
    They should have hired us to build them a nice dragon. Sure it'd cost them 10 times as much as doing it with CG, but it'd be way awesomer.
  • Bigjohn
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    New trailer. I gotta say, I really love Evangeline as an elf.

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mbOEknbi4gQ"]The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug - Official Main Trailer [HD] - YouTube[/ame]
  • PixelGoat
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PixelGoat polycounter lvl 12
    Bigjohn wrote: »
    New trailer. I gotta say, I really love Evangeline as an elf.

I´m in love with the environment colors!
  • almighty_gir
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    almighty_gir ngon master
    aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaawwwww shit!
  • Rens
    Options