Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: vinn

Hello everyone.

A couple days ago, a friend urged me to make a sketchbook on polycount so here I am.

I am a 19 year old student living in Canada. I attend a game art course in September 2011. I've never touched 3D before. I tried really hard. I hope I learned something. Because my demo reel is due in a few months. Aaaah. D;

I haven't posted on polycount before. I want to try to help in this community as I can [haha, like I can help anyone.]
And so I would really appreciate if you helped me. Critiques, advice, suggestions. Even though sometimes circumstances restrict me from making changes, I will still value it. Because more likely than not, I don't know what the hell I'm doing.

To start off, I'll post the project that I'm working on at the moment and put up some studies along the way. I thought about putting it in the Pimping & Previews section, but it's not like it's anything to be looking forward to, what kind of preview would that be...

I am making a female game character.
Her name is Artisia Sawtooth. Therefore, I've dubbed this the Sawtooth Project [lol, I'm sorry. It's lame :P]

Here is my concept art, terribly rushed so that I could get it in on time but it has the colour palette. Please excuse my weird concepts.
sawtooth__rough_concept_art_by_quietpyre-d4z5xua.jpg
sawtooth__prop_sketch_by_quietpyre-d4z5ysr.jpg

I do feel terribly unprepared, but I'm running out of time.
So jumping right into it, I made a base mesh in maya and brought it into zbrush. So far, the overall piece looks like this:
sawtooth__wip_sculpt_overview_by_quietpyre-d4z62e7.jpg

My TA tried to help me with the face [and sculpted over it to make the one on the left]. I did a comparison. Idk... I still want to keep a softer, stylized feel.
sawtooth__face_comparison_by_quietpyre-d4z633d.jpg

My next steps in the Sawtooth project are to:
- add cracks to the face
- detail the ornaments
- retopo the main finished pieces