Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio - Hampus Linton, Character Animation

Hi guys!

Just like Teuta, St4lis and Jonas-144 I'm currently studying at The Game Assembly in Malmö, Sweden.

I'm a character animator and I'm currently building my portfolio, getting it ready for internship application. I would love it if you guys could have a look and give me some feedback.

Critique the animations or just the portfolio layout in general, it's all appreciated!

Hit me
hampuslinton.com

[vv]39650707[/vv]

Replies

• slipsius
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    slipsius mod
    Hey there,

Your presentation needs work. Your portfolio site is ok, but in terms of rendering, when watching animations, turn tables are freaking annoying. show the front and the side view at the same time for walks and runs. even your side stepping.

On your site, the second video, of the dude stabbing the other guy. You show 3 camera angles, but they are so similar, it is pointless. You need to show different camera angles. Front, back, side. Not 3 slightly different angles from the front. Also, if you hold right click on your ground plane, then go down to assign new material, and select "use background", It will look much better. You can change the background colour by going to view in the viewport, select camera, then ctrl+a, then in the options on the right, go down to environment and there is a colour swatch thing there.

Your RTS animations. You have some good ones in there, but some not so good ones. The title cards telling us exactly what the cycle is for are annoying. Your animation should tell the viewer what it's for. If you think you need the titles, put a little "run" in the bottom right of the shot.

Back to your reel though. Your walks need more shoulder and hip rotation. You have next to none (if any at all?). I do like your reload animations though. Not so much the actual firing of the guns. Seems a little stiff to me. But the reloads are good.