Home Technical Talk

Spherical world - how?

Hey there fellow polycounters,

At the company I work on we're making a Unity game where the enemies come from the top to the bottom of the screen linearly and the player can pan the camera from the top to bottom, just like an RTS game. (no sideways movement though)
I suggested having a spherical world so the enemies would appear from behind the horizon.
But then I don't know which would be the best way to implement that. Do you guys have any ideas?

Here's some reference:
[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ga8Kh1N1PdQ"]Academy of Champions: Soccer (Wii) Full match gameplay - YouTube[/ame]

Replies

• Justin Meisse
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Justin Meisse polycounter lvl 18
    I believe you can do all that in code. I'm not a programmer so I don't know how it works, you make the world in the traditional manner and then code magic makes it curved. I found this guy's tutorial on doing a cylinder world like Deathspank or Animal crossing link
  • Drew++
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Drew++ polycounter lvl 14
    ^ Correct.
    Could be done with a shader I believe... I think commander_keen did that in a little moon game he was working on.
  • commander_keen
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    commander_keen polycounter lvl 18
    I think Justin_Meisse is refering to using a vertex shader to bend the world at runtime. That can be a good way of doing it, but because its a hack and the world isnt actually round it introduces a lot of problems and makes things more complicated. For what your describing why not just actually model the world as a sphere?
  • Ashaman73
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ashaman73 polycounter lvl 6
    Model the world as cube and use catmull subdivison to create an "sphere" from it. From an coding view, you still have an cube and you can then "unwrap" it to a 2d plane and can move and place objects on this plane with ease.
  • r_fletch_r
    Options