Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

WoW Inspired Maelstrom WIP

Glode
polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Glode polycounter lvl 11
Hey there :),

So I've been working on this small scene on and off over a couple of days, was never meant to be a big project, more a side project :).

Anyways, Heres what it looks like at the moment:

2h7q7eo.jpg

Currently theres some place holder stuff, such as the rocks and wave/smoke effects by the rocks. Theres also a nasty Seam on the sea mesh which I really need to get around to fixing so it looks nice :).

I started some rock sculpting practise for this scene - mainly because I'm not very good at sculpting, and I've always found rocks to be difficult to make/look good. I'm hoping to eventually be able to sculpt out a tilling rock texture in zbrush with what I've learned from this practise:

20tjggi.jpg

29qcffn.jpg[imgr8tuhc.jpg

fuy4x.jpg

Any feedback is welcome, would like to hear your thoughts on it so far :).

Cheers

Replies

• jsargent
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jsargent polycounter lvl 5
    That looks great, any chance you can run through your process for making the rocks?
  • toxic_h2o
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    toxic_h2o polycounter lvl 8
    This looks cool! I would love to see it in motion. :D Rocks look awesome! Some of the edges look razor sharp though, I might go back with the clay brush and bevel them a bit.
  • MainManiac
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MainManiac polycounter lvl 11
    Holy crap great mood dude
  • EMC3D
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    EMC3D polycounter lvl 7
    I can't wait to see the new rocks in, looking forward to more!
  • Glode
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Glode polycounter lvl 11
    Wow, thanks for the replies :)