Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Mudbox] Spartan Character

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
nathanbarrett polycounter lvl 6
Hi all,

I'm a third year Games Tech student and my current assignment is to create a high poly character using 3DS and Mudbox. I've chosen to do a Spartan (300-inspired)

I'm a complete noob to Mudbox. Apart from a couple of sculpts I've done in practice, this is my first "big" application of it so I thought I'd post my progress so far and try and get some feedback from people who have more experience than I...

I began with a basic male body shape, and sculpted the basic muscles etc.

torso1-1024x492.png

And a bit of work on the face..

manrender-1024x492.jpg

assignment2-1024x492.png

More

manprogress2-1024x492.jpg

Detailing

mandetails2-1024x492.jpg

And finally, the colour so far

manpaint1-1024x492.jpg

Any advice / criticism would be fantastic, thanks!

Replies

• nathanbarrett
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
  • Snader
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Snader polycounter lvl 15
    It's really blobby and rather badly defined.
  • Rhinokey
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Rhinokey polycounter lvl 18
    gmax5 wrote: »
    That's one war-torn Spartan you have there... although I cant for the life of me understand the ripped cape for some odd reason. Other than that, Very outstanding art work. You may also want to add some more blood on the character for a more torn appearance.

ok marks Gmax down on the list of either blind or completely insane.

You seem to have done something pretty common with sculpting tools.