Author : tsmith3d


Reply
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
jbuck's Avatar
Old (#1)
Hello everyone. I've had this UDK Tools script around for awile now and recently polished it up into a Python version that I believe to be a more useful tool. It's free.

Features:
  • Ability to quickly switch between the UDK grid and the default Maya grid
  • Custom grid division settings
  • Transform tools for positioning meshes and/or pivots in level designer friendly locations
  • Quickly create useful references
  • A Unreal Unit/standard unit real-time float field calculator
  • Batch Exporter that uses an FBX preset file and can automatically position your mesh for export, then place it back to its original location in your scene.

Additions to version 1.1 based on user feedback (see help file for full details):
* Automatically loads FBX export preset file when the script is run
* Basic UI coloring for clarity
* Object/pivot transform now separate tools
* Auto load of custom references with buttons for each
* Batch export prefix/suffix option
* Stacking transform tool

v1.11
Bug Fix: Float and int fields can now be updated with either the regular or num-pad enter keys

v1.12
Feature: Added option in the 'Settings' dropdown to keep custom grid color settings or use jbUDK Tools grid color settings

v1.20
Update: UI now works with Maya 2013.

v.1.30
Update: Updated for Maya 2014

Latest version (1.30) can be downloaded here
Help file is here

Last edited by jbuck; 07-07-2013 at 12:51 PM.. Reason: New version available
Offline , vertex, 46 Posts, Join Date Oct 2009, Location Burlington, Vermont, USA  
   Reply With Quote

haiddasalami's Avatar
Old (#2)
Nice stuff! I assume your using the object name and not allowing the user to set a name on export?
Offline , card carrying polycounter, 2,162 Posts, Join Date Nov 2009, Location Toronto  
   Reply With Quote

jbuck's Avatar
Old (#3)
Thanks. Yes, it inherits the object name on export. I was thinking about adding a simple prefix/suffix system in future versions but all other suggestions are welcome!
Offline , vertex, 46 Posts, Join Date Oct 2009, Location Burlington, Vermont, USA  
   Reply With Quote

haiddasalami's Avatar
Old (#4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbuck View Post
Thanks. Yes, it inherits the object name on export. I was thinking about adding a simple prefix/suffix system in future versions but all other suggestions are welcome!
Ah. yeah I tried figuring out an elegant solution to the user defining names but didnt come up with any when I made an fbx exporter for unreal. The reference bit is definitely a nice touch.
Offline , card carrying polycounter, 2,162 Posts, Join Date Nov 2009, Location Toronto  
   Reply With Quote

NoltaN's Avatar
Old (#5)
Wow these are great! Does anyone know if anything like this exists for Max?
Offline , spline, 106 Posts, Join Date Feb 2009, Location San Francisco, CA  
   Reply With Quote

Ace-Angel's Avatar
Old (#6)
^Nope.
There's a very good chance that I experienced MORE problems, then all the internet put together in the area of 3D. Talk about being original for once...
Offline , veteran polycounter, 4,784 Posts, Join Date Apr 2011, Location Canada  
   Reply With Quote

jbuck's Avatar
Old (#7)
There must be something for Max, but when people cobble scripts like this together they often end up as 'proprietary.'
Offline , vertex, 46 Posts, Join Date Oct 2009, Location Burlington, Vermont, USA  
   Reply With Quote

passerby's Avatar
Old (#8)
like your script a lot,

maybe a button to add the collision prefix for fbx export would be cool to have too.


also for the reference option a user-definable mesh would be nice, since a lot of people exported out one of the default UT3 characters, or they have there own player mesh.

overall nice script, the batch export, with the auto pivot positions is really nice when working on modular environment assets.

add that too the import features UDK already has for FBX, such as lodgroups, and importing of referenced materials, and textures, and the UDK pipeline is getting pretty dam efficient and fast.

Last edited by passerby; 12-21-2011 at 07:57 AM..
Offline , veteran polycounter, 3,087 Posts, Join Date Nov 2010, Location Halifax, NS, Canada  
   Reply With Quote

jbuck's Avatar
Old (#9)
Thanks.

Totally agree on the UCX naming. I'm thinking: take the name of the first selected mesh and apply it to all subsequent selections as 'UCX_firstSelectedMeshName_number'. I might prefer this to a guided dialogue.

User definable reference is a great idea. I'm thinking .ma, .mb or obj.

btw... the batch exporter is in it's infancy and while it works well for lots of meshes, you'll have less luck with LOD groups. That's worth thinking about.
Offline , vertex, 46 Posts, Join Date Oct 2009, Location Burlington, Vermont, USA  
   Reply With Quote

passerby's Avatar
Old (#10)
you sure i did a batch export of 2 objects both with lods groups, and it had no issue.

i just selected the LODGroups from the outliner when added them to the batch export instead of clicking the object in the scene.

oh my FBX export preset, didn't seem to survive a maya restart, is there a way to make it remeber that, or maybe a parameter to launch the tool with that selects the preset file.

Last edited by passerby; 12-21-2011 at 08:20 AM..
Offline , veteran polycounter, 3,087 Posts, Join Date Nov 2010, Location Halifax, NS, Canada  
   Reply With Quote

jbuck's Avatar
Old (#11)
Good to hear and makes sense as it exports anything you've added to the list. I was thinking it would be nice to iterate through groups automatically -- probably more trouble than it's worth at this point.

The FBX export preset needs to be reloaded every time you restart the script. It does default to your current project location so I keep my presets in there but it currently won't auto load it -- I'll look into adding that.
Offline , vertex, 46 Posts, Join Date Oct 2009, Location Burlington, Vermont, USA  
   Reply With Quote

passerby's Avatar
Old (#12)
ya don't think you need to do much or anything more with the lod groups, since they are supported by FBX, and UDK already knows what to do with them.

as far as the fbx preset file, maybe something as simple as a launch parameter for the tool, since im sure most people are firing it up via a shelf button anyways.

going to do some more testing, tomorrow when i have a good amount of time, and will post any bugs, or possible features for you.
Offline , veteran polycounter, 3,087 Posts, Join Date Nov 2010, Location Halifax, NS, Canada  
   Reply With Quote

jbuck's Avatar
Old (#13)
Thanks, let me know what you come up with for both bugs/features. So far for features I have:
* UCX collision naming
* Batch export prefix/suffix option
* Load FBX preset file automatically
* Custom reference mesh loader
* Stacking -> DONE for v1.01. Nice bounding box stacking as opposed to the quirky Maya align stacking.A pain to do but I like the results.
Offline , vertex, 46 Posts, Join Date Oct 2009, Location Burlington, Vermont, USA  
   Reply With Quote

passerby's Avatar
Old (#14)
ya been doing e bit of messing about, and haven't found any additional bugs, and everything works as expected.

it's really nice how i can select a whole group of objects for export and it does it as 1 fbx, since that allows me to easily export with out combing meshes into 1 object.

i expect to be working on UDK environment sometime next week, so will give this a try while im doing that, and make sure texture and material references, and lods and everything still exports fine, with larger scenes.

sofar don't really see anything new feature wise but what was already suggested.
Offline , veteran polycounter, 3,087 Posts, Join Date Nov 2010, Location Halifax, NS, Canada  
   Reply With Quote

Ignoto's Avatar
Old (#15)
Thanks!
A really usefull tollkit.
I īm going to download, and use it in the next asset for my proyect.
Offline , vertex, 25 Posts, Join Date Nov 2011,  
   Reply With Quote

Paragon's Avatar
Old (#16)
Hey Guys!
Nice stuff jbuck!
I decided to go ahead and make a max version since people were asking for it.
download here!
:P
Offline , null, 24 Posts, Join Date Oct 2010,  
   Reply With Quote

Oniram's Avatar
Old (#17)
awesome job on this dude.
Sean Marino - Portfolio | ArtStation
Sledgehammer Games - Weapons/Vehicle Artist
[Tutorial] Tileable Textures
Offline , card carrying polycounter, 2,196 Posts, Join Date Apr 2007, Location Belmont, CA Send a message via Skype™ to Oniram  
   Reply With Quote

Bal's Avatar
Old (#18)
This is great, as passerby said, I especially love that you can export groups as one FBX (combined with the "combine meshes" option when importing in UDK), make it simpler, don't need to merge unnecessary stuff.

One request, maybe this is something I haven't figured out how to avoid : Why does it always ask me the path and open the FBX export window as soon as I do an export? This is wasted time as usually I'm always keeping the same settings. It would be good to be able to set the path once and for all, and bypass the FBX export window, this would really speed things up as exporting would really be a one click solution once everything is set up.
Offline , polycounter, 1,078 Posts, Join Date Jun 2006, Location Paris / France  
   Reply With Quote

passerby's Avatar
Old (#19)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bal View Post
This is great, as passerby said, I especially love that you can export groups as one FBX (combined with the "combine meshes" option when importing in UDK), make it simpler, don't need to merge unnecessary stuff.

One request, maybe this is something I haven't figured out how to avoid : Why does it always ask me the path and open the FBX export window as soon as I do an export? This is wasted time as usually I'm always keeping the same settings. It would be good to be able to set the path once and for all, and bypass the FBX export window, this would really speed things up as exporting would really be a one click solution once everything is set up.
maybe having it export to the same directory that the scenes MB is in, or a sub-directory of it. like scenedirctory/export.

Last edited by passerby; 12-27-2011 at 06:20 AM..
Offline , veteran polycounter, 3,087 Posts, Join Date Nov 2010, Location Halifax, NS, Canada  
   Reply With Quote

Tutstastic's Avatar
Old (#20)
Awesome to see new versions of these scripts. I still use your original tool every time I make models for UDK.
Offline , null, 4 Posts, Join Date Jan 2012,  
   Reply With Quote

jbuck's Avatar
Old (#21)
Thanks all. As Tutstastic mentions this in the latest version of a tool set that I created back in 2007 for Unreal 3.

@Bal -- it's asking you where to put the files on export every-time because I didn't look into a way to "remember" where you last exported to. It does, however default to your current project. Would be easy to have it pick a folder from there or create one -- prob better to have it "remember" where you last exported to though? FWIW, having to choose a folder on export seems to be the system default for all exports, especially since it overwrites whats in the directory.

Also, I think autoloading FBX presets would be helpful. Maybe from the root location of the active project?

Thanks for the feedback!
Offline , vertex, 46 Posts, Join Date Oct 2009, Location Burlington, Vermont, USA  
   Reply With Quote

Bal's Avatar
Old (#22)
You could use the current maya project settings to define where the exports should go, that would seem logical, and I don't really understand why you have to preload the FBX settings at all since each time you export it still opens the FBX options window (would be nicer if it didnt ).
Offline , polycounter, 1,078 Posts, Join Date Jun 2006, Location Paris / France  
   Reply With Quote

jbuck's Avatar
Old (#23)
You only have to load the FBX preset file each time you run the script. You don't have to load it each time you export. I will find a way to get it to autoload when you run the script.

The latest Maya 2012 hotfix or service pack seems to address an issue with the MEL filedialog2 function which I use for file-browsing in this script. On at least one of the systems I tested on I had to update Maya to get the FBX settings to load properly.
Offline , vertex, 46 Posts, Join Date Oct 2009, Location Burlington, Vermont, USA  
   Reply With Quote

Bal's Avatar
Old (#24)
jbuck, what I mean, is that each time I export, after pressing OK for the folder, I also have the FBX option window that pops up that I have to OK as well, is there a way to avoid that?
Offline , polycounter, 1,078 Posts, Join Date Jun 2006, Location Paris / France  
   Reply With Quote

jbuck's Avatar
Old (#25)
If you keep the script open it will keep the FBX preset file loaded and not prompt you for it. What OS/Maya version are you running?
Offline , vertex, 46 Posts, Join Date Oct 2009, Location Burlington, Vermont, USA  
   Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright 1998-2014 Polycount