Offline / Send Message
toxic_h2o polycounter lvl 8
Its Finished!
OldShack_Final01.png
OldShack_Final02.png
OldShack_Final03.png
OldShack_Final04.png
OldShack_FinalTextures.png

Hey everyone, Nick here, I started working on the Blizzard student environment contest. I know its a bit early but it's going to get really busy around the holidays so I thought I start on it now. If you dont know about the contest check HERE. Also check out their example because something along that nature is my end goal.

Couple things, I have never worked in the blizzard "style" so if you guys have any suggestions I would love to here them. Feel free to ask questions too.

I have never done any sort of texture painting before, so this will be an experience needless to say. I spent over 2 hours scouring though more than 500 threads on polycount looking for any threads that related to texture painting. I found many bad and good examples so I have an idea of what do and what not to do. Anyways I exported my bookmarks and uploaded them so if you guys want a bunch of polycount links on texture painting you peeps can check them out.

Download Texture Painting Links

CONCEPT
I'm attempting to create a run down Botanist's shack. I decided to go with a tree growing out of the center to create a bit more story and personality. I was imagining some sort of accident maybe when using magic or something that caused this tree to grow so rapidly that it destroyed the shack in the process.

The main thing I am concerned with at the moment is the overall shape and silhouette of the building. I really want to nail the architecture before I continue. Also I need there to be an inside as well, so I have to take in account for that.

Here my current WIP of the BLOCKING.

This was one of the roof alternatives I was looking at.
shackBlocking_test.png