Home Unreal Engine

Regarding light seams problem.

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
Hayden Zammit polycounter lvl 12
Hi. I'm pretty new to UDK and was hoping someone could clear something up for me. See that light seam where the top of the mesh meets the side?

The other side doesn't have this problem, but the thing is my UVs are overlapped on this side. Is there any workaround, or do you either just have to not overlap or just put up with it? I understand that I won't get this problem only if the UVs are sewn together, but that kind of makes it hard to make good UV maps.

I put the asset in that scene that Jordan Walker made available on his website, so I'm pretty certain the lightings good and its something I'm doing wrong.

capturevcp.png

Replies

• Ben Apuna
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Do you have one set of UVs for the textures? and another non-overlapping set of UVs for the lightmap?

If the answer to the 2nd question is "no" then:

Copy/pasted from another thread:
    Ben Apuna wrote: »
    Yeah unless all you have is a flat plane almost every static mesh will need a separate set of UVs just for lightmaps.

The general rules for lightmaps in UDK are:

1. Make sure there are no overlapping UVs.

2. Make sure there is 2 pixels of padding around each UV shell (4 pixels total between two different shells) to prevent light from bleeding over to different parts of the model. Back In UE3 you also needed some padding around the outer edge of 0-1 space. Then with UDK Epic originally said you don't need padding around the edge of 0-1 space. Then they made some sort of change that caused lightmaps to be mip mapped at a distance. So I'm thinking it may be best to put at least 2 pixels of padding around the edge of 0-1 space again. Though I'm not too sure about that.

3. Weld the UVs where you want smooth continuous lighting.