Home Technical Talk

fast way to animate a bunch of bobbing fish

polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
Justin Meisse polycounter lvl 18
I'm an environment artist who knows enough rudimentary animation skills to get by and I've got something that is going to be tedious unless there's a faster solution: I need to animate a bunch of fish just sort of bobbing up and down in the water. What's a fast way to do it that doesn't involve me manually keying each fish by hand?

Replies

• Ace-Angel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ace-Angel polycounter lvl 12
    I would say creating a dummy, linking it to all the fishy and animating said dummy should do it.

You could also create a second and third dummy, link certain fishy to those, and have them do a separate bob to add variation (once you keyed your fishy from the previous initial bob ofcourse).

Or you could just set up a water body particle, and collision them fishy, but it's will take longer then prior mentioned method.

NOTE: I'm no animator, so there could be a faster way.
  • Suidae
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Suidae polycounter lvl 11
    Do you mean bobbing like this in the water? [ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PXilZbxgBF0"]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PXilZbxgBF0[/ame]

If so, you can also try the attachment constraint in max. If the water is already animated, just attach the fish to the water and set their position, then you can adjust the pivot point to determine how deep in the water you want them to be.
  • Vailias
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Vailias polycounter lvl 18
    consider using a particle effect? not sure how complex of motion you need for the individual fish, but you might get what you need with a simple particle generator, with a long particle life and some positional constraints and specify your fish mesh to be used as the particle.
  • Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message