Home Technical Talk

Hair problems (low poly)

Hey guys,
I try to create polygonal hair for my character(without alpha-planes).
But i am very new to modeling i dont really know how to start it, are there any good tutorials?

A good example of the hair ,how i would like to create it, is KIngdom Hearts.
Example: Zexion_Days.png

BTW: Is it really that important that the vertices of the hair and the vertices of the head are linked to each other?

( I am using 3Ds Max)

Replies

• Vailias
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Vailias polycounter lvl 18
    no its not important that the verts be linked, just make sure they're all skinned to the same bones when you get to rigging.

Since you're new to modeling here's the best, most useful tutorial I know of:

Observe. Try. repeat.

There is no magic formula or set of steps to make that hair, or any hair, or any thing. Just observe what the result you want is, use the tools you have to approach it and evaluate your results, and adjust your work as best you can.

Almost all the detail in that guys hair is in the texture, the actual strands are just modeled out in strips.
  • Dastansdream
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thank you for the answer.^^

I really tried it , I tried to extrude the hair from the head, I tried it like in the "Joan of Arc" tutorial and I even tried it with alpha-planes.

Alpha-planes:

alphaplanes.png

But that doesn't give me the "Cartoon/Anime/unrealistic" look that i want.
    Everytime without reasonable results.

And besides, I have every time the feeling, that I do it incredibly wrong.
  • melviso
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    melviso polycounter lvl 10
    Don't use alpha maps.If u want the hair to be cartoony,just use hair strand textures on the color map,maybe add normal map so that the hair stands stand out,don't make the normal map too detailed(many hair stands).Just keep it light.
  • Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message