Home Technical Talk

Need help on Vertex colors in Maya.

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
jimpaw polycounter lvl 9
Hi,

I have recently started to add vertex colors for Maya 2012 and are using VertexChameleon. I am really new to vertex lightning and need help with some basics. When you use vertex colors in Maya you have to choose a "material blend setting" also you have to choose what material channel you have to use.

1. Is it possible to have multible blending options for one model ?, example: i want "add" to some parts on the model that i want to glow more and "multiply" on some other parts where i just want the color to blend with the texture.

2. When i combine objects some vertex colors gets distorted. am i doing something wrong here or is it generally speaking a better idea to use vertex colors in the end after you merged the entire scene ?

3. While working in unity what setting do i need to change to see vertex lightning in there? (this is a question for a friend of mine who is a programmer not my part really)

4. does vertex color add extra drawcalls in an game engine or is it so basic that it doesnt slow down the game at all ?

5. What is the difference between diffuse + ambient and just diffuse material channel ?. It whould be great if someone could explain what the standard is for game production.

6. I am trying to create a glow that fades up on an edge but cant get the result i want. Basicly i want a color that completely overlays the underlaying texture. I am trying to erase an edge between a glowing field and a wall (look at attachment)

I guess that this is a bunch of really stupid question but i really have no clue where to start. any tutorials on this matter would be very appreciated.

Thanks alot !

Thanks alot guys.

Replies

• equil
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    1. modulate x2. note that if you use this mode gray is the midpoint instead of white.
    Hqjq0.png