Home Technical Talk

How to rig and animate cloth/hair in games??

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
melviso polycounter lvl 10
Hello All,
I am new here and am really happy to know there is a forum solely for videogame 3d artist/animators/designers.

I am working on an animation project.I am a 2d animator that recently switched to 3d animation but I have long since been familiar with modeliing,uvmapping,rigging and texturing.

I have a model with long hair and a cape and I am really thinking of doing the bones/dynamic ik spline way by using Maya hair to drive the bones that will then deform the hair and cape but my problem is how to prevent the cape or hair from entering the character's mesh.I have studied cutscenes and gameplay of games like heavenly sword, and FFXIII and I noticed that bones were used but they don't go through the character when they move about.

Also saw this:
[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vrx1NQJP70U[/ame]

Is there some sort of script or constraint being used to keep the deformed mesh from penetrating into the character as the hair solver collisions works with the hair curve and not the cape or hair geo?

I don't wanna use ncloth cause of the heavy simulation and repeated tweaking.With 3 or 4 curves,running simulation will be far more lighter.

Will appreciate replies from anyone familiar with this aspect.Thanks.

Replies

• Zpanzer
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Zpanzer polycounter lvl 8