Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[UDK] Nature-y cabin scene

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Highelf polycounter lvl 11
Hey guys. This is my first project in UDK, aimed towards my main (and also first) portfolio environment art piece.

Latest version:

c0e463ba4dcba7e65e6b7e3aed1787f5.png

Screenshot-2011-08-31_22.34.44.jpg

Screenshot-2011-08-31_22.39.58.jpg

Here's concept art (WIP actually) I did:

U_proeneScene_conceptart.jpg

And a more fantasy creature:

anvilram.jpg

It's inspired by the story of Dick Proeneke, supposed to be a very natural scene, fairly realistic (obviously the animal is a bit fantastical). Might be a bit lacking in "story" atm. I was thinking of adding maybe something like 2 graves or similar. Ideas very very welcome.

I have a sculpt and low poly ready of the anvil ram, I will post pictures as soon as I get the bake done.

Replies

• Highelf
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    This is the first WIP. The scene is still fairly empty, and the stuff there needs tweaks but I felt it was presentable enough for a thread so far to let the crits and ideas flow in! So by all means shoot. Specifically is the grass too bright or saturated? I calibrated my monitor but some people already told me it was way bright over there, and on my second monitor (also calibrated as well as possible...) it's pretty saturated and different.

<SNIP> Sorry photobucket turned out to be really gay, latest picture is in the top post anyway!

At the moment I'm mostly just fighting with UDK over controls and settings. And shaders.

Here's a grab of what I got for my main environment shader; grass and dirt vertex blending over a mask for better transitions, and scalar mapping on both with a unique normal map for variation. Not totally crazy and I probably hacked some stuff together but it helped me learn the basics of materials and shaders in UDK.

<SNIP>
  • toxic_h2o
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    toxic_h2o polycounter lvl 8