Home Technical Talk

Normal Map questions

hamzaaa
polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
hamzaaa polycounter lvl 11
Hello everyone,

as some of you may know I am pretty new to game modeling and I am currently starting to explore normal mapping in both theory and practice.
As for theorie I read stuff on numerous forums, websites, wikis and so on. So I am not fully "Normal Map 101", but some questions I just can't answer myself or I simply don't understand some things. So I decided to let you guys help me answer those questions explicitly, this doesn't only help me but also other newcomers to this topic maybe. So if there are any more newbie to this topic feel free to throw in some questions also! Would be cool if you guys could answer my questions in an easy and step by step manner as if you would tell them to a newbie or someone which isn't very deep into the topic (me ;) I also know that all situations and workflows depend so if there is a case where it's up to the situation it would be cool if you could state some examples.

Questions:

1. Cage baking 101: How exactly does a cage work? How to setup a cage correctly instead of just using the "push" value?

2. What's the difference between using cages (e.g. projection modifier in max) and no cage (baking via offset value)? Advantages/Disadvantages?

3. The miracle question which although I tried to answer for several hours I am still not fully sure about: When to bevel edges and when to use smoothing groups? Advantages/Disadvantages?

4. What causes waviness in normal maps and how can it be fixed? (I know there are several posts about that by EQ, but I don't really understand them as they are written for people who already are deeper into the topic than I am *shame*)

I think that's it so far. I thank you guys for your time! I appreciate it very much!

Replies

• Quack!
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Quack! polycounter lvl 17