Home General Discussion

Unlimited Detail

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Flaringo polycounter lvl 11
Some people may remember a certain video on youtube a while back. It was a presentation of new technology that would allow game developers the freedom of unlimited detail when making 3D assets for games, throwing polygons away for a point-cloud system.

There's been no updates since that first video, but very recently this popped up:
[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UKUuUvDSXk4[/ame]

I have very little knowledge on the subject, so I don't really have a real opinion. It certainly looks too good to be true. One question I have is how will they handle animation?

Anyways, what do you guys think?

Replies

• arrangemonk
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    arrangemonk polycounter lvl 15
    yep, thats innovation.
    lower the quality, (here: level detail, not model detail)
    making a fuzz, dissapear, thus generating discussions over the world
    revive the fuzz to generate more discussion and attract business people
    profit
    ???
    release?
  • eld
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    eld polycounter lvl 18
    They have reached unlimited levels of douche.
  • Lazerus Reborn
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Lazerus Reborn polycounter lvl 8
    shit.

You really just want to slap him the second he starts speaking...
  • Noors
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Noors greentooth
    "rock was imported from real world"
    file>import>real world
    OH YEAAH !
  • Ged
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ged interpolator
    lol they really need to get someone to handle PR. Nice to see they are still trying though, lets see what happens when the mythical sdk is finally released :). My guess = no dynamic lights, no animations for point cloud models and no shader support as Im guessing each object is lit and textured on a per atom colour.
  • Scizz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Scizz polycounter lvl 11