Home Technical Talk

Are 3ds Max's Modeling Tools Good Enough for Us?

obliviboy
polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
obliviboy polycounter lvl 12
I'm a modeler/programer and I'm looking to improve 3ds max modeling tools so I'm asking you fellow modelers a few questions.

1) What frustrates you the most using 3ds max as a modeling application?

2) What existing tool do you like the most?

3) How much would you pay for modeling 10x times faster and having 10x more control over the mesh?

Fill in the poll and Answer some or all the question above to help me give you what you want.

Thanks you.

Replies

• r_fletch_r
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    r_fletch_r polycounter lvl 9
    The tools are great. its the ui lags, and the control scheme are what let max down.
    What alot of folks on PC do is condense the modeling tools into what Perna calls 'smart functions' take similar tools and merge them into context sensitive functions.

look at silo if you want to see this done well.
  • obliviboy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I agree a better UI would be great but I don't know how much can I modify max's UI with the SDK.

Right now I'm focusing on creating some useful modeling tools. Yeah max's modeling tools are great and I don't intend to replace them, but there is room for other more task specific tools.
  • Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message