Home Technical Talk

Hardware tessellation and topology

polycounter lvl 15
Offline / Send Message
Swizzle polycounter lvl 15
Since tessellation seems to be a pretty hot topic right now with the Samaritan tech demo and the March UDK, realized I had some questions about it. That probably means other people do as well.

Specifically, what does tessellation mean for modelers?

Obviously it's adding more geometry to what's already there, but how do the algorithms behave when subdividing meshes?

Is it necessary to add support loops to sharp edges on your low-poly model, or is this something that the displacement map can usually take care of?

Will tessellation start to make low-poly modeling look more like high-poly stuff so that things subdivide nicely?

If any of the Epic folks or any people from other studios and projects using tessellation would care to chime in, that'd be great. I've never worked with tessellation before and I'm sure there are several other people around who've never touched the stuff either.

Replies

• Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    As far as I know and its very limited knowledge but it can work off of texture maps, so basically you have a low, and you feed it either a normal map or something like it and it tessellates as it needs to.

Being curious myself and doing a quick search I found this:
    http://blogs.msdn.com/b/chuckw/archive/2010/07/19/direct3d-11-tessellation.aspx
    Looks like lots to read and it's probably not all that artist friendly and I'm sure it will probably kick off a new round of tools and tech to go with it. But we're talking about extremely high end PC's and might not show up on the next round of consoles... /sadface
  • oglu
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    oglu polycount lvl 666
    just take a look at the rock giant demo... there is a wireframe mode to check out the tesselation...
    http://www.stonegiant.se/
    [ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5TLlichIP9Y[/ame]