Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

UDK Environment: Feedstock CTF

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
Neolight polycounter lvl 10
Hey polycount.

I'm a junior animation student at NYU, and I hope to become an environment artist in the game development industry one day - an aspiration shared by probably a few of the dudes here.

I'm really glad I stumbled upon this forum because I'm in need of some MAJOR environment/hardsurface guidance for a UDK project I've undergone. I've decided to run the gauntlet and build a small UDK level from concept to completion around a simple Capture the Flag game mechanic, and I have found myself swamped with questions:

"Am I making efficent game geometry?"

"How many maps should this asset have?"

"Should I use a tile texture solution or is this an asset that needs it's own map?"

etc.

I'd like to post the work I've done so far on it here, and then fire out some questions about whether or not I'm really doing this properly. I fear that I'm pretty much doing everything wrong as far as optimization is concerned - making bases that are WAY too high poly and not using tiled maps enough etc.

I'd like to do this right, and get started with some idea of what the environment art pipeline is. Because right now, I feel like I'm diving in blind.

The Project:
The aesthetics of the level adheres to a vibrant and stylized art direction (Ratchet and Clank, World of Warcraft, etc) and needs to have some narrative purpose. It's also stuffed with organic and hard surface modeling challenges. The goal is to make a totally badass looking CTF environment in UDK while following these guidelines and learn as much about making game art as possible.

2010-262-22-26-5-1-Levellayoutiteration1.jpg

The Level's Backstory:

Mission Name: Feedstock

Time: 13:00

Climate: 78 degrees, Humid, Thunderstorms expected

Backstory: The fertile swamp planet Veritas is home to hundreds of collosal life forms. The preservation of it's intricate ecosystem has been