Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Sci-Fi Spaceship w/tileable texture elements workflow

polycounter lvl 13
Offline / Send Message
JobyeK polycounter lvl 13
Hey everyone! Long time lurker, first time poster. Been meaning to start posting on polycount for a while now, so here it goes!

I'm a student in the new Bachelor's Degree at the NAD Centre in Montreal. I just finished up a project for uni this week that used a texture and UV workflow I've never used before. My teacher said they used this kind of workflow for most of the vehicles in Avatar: The Game which he worked on.

The exercise consisted on creating futuristic/industrial type models that would use one tileable 1024 texture. This means that the map has different elements that are tiled horizontally or vertically or even tiled in stacks, depending on what you want.

It was a great learning experience and I wanted share the results with everyone and so that you could understand the workflow as well. It's rendered in 3DS Max with the Xoliul shader (btw, this was my first big model in 3DS Max, before 3DS, I was using Maya):

Final Result:

tile_ship_3-4.jpg

tile_ship_side.jpg
[IMG]file:///D:/My%20Dropbox/Public/tile_ship_back.jpg[/IMG]
tile_ship_back.jpg

The same texture can be used for different models:
tile_column.jpg

tile_reactor.jpg

The texture maps with tileable elements horizontally with specific details on bottom of map:
tile_maps.png

As you can imagine, with this technique, UVs and their placement is definitely the longest part and aren't what you're used to, they're placed everywhere and can be stacked since the texture is tiled:
tile_UVs.jpg

As a whole, I proceeded the following way for this workflow:

- Modeled the ship model
- Created the tileable texture normal map (high-poly bakes on a plane can be used, I elected to do everything by hand with CrazyBump and PS given what my details were)
- Unwrap the UVs of ship according to tileable normal map to see any issues with it and change as needed