Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: Rogue One

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Rogue One polycounter lvl 7
New guy here! Long-time spectator and admirer of the huge talent on display here although very daunting and intimidating! Never the less you got to start somewhere, right? So it’s about time I jump on the polycount bus and hopefully make some friends and learn a thing or two while at it :)

Brief bit about me, I am an aspiring games artist from Scotland who is now living in Vancouver and looking to land his first job/internship early next year. I am currently building my folio that will hopefully help me achieve my goal.

My chosen concepts are as shown below along with self-assigned goals of what I would like to achieve. This folio should help me get my foot in the door with my first job/internship in a 3D Artist role.

I do have a concern that they are all character based pieces I have chosen to work ( that’s what I enjoy the most) and I’ve heard it very unlikely to get a entry job as a character artist. Truth is I would happy to do anything Environments, Props, Weapons any to do with the creation of 3D assets. My thinking is this, if have these four polished assets in my folio then I can show a potential employer my ability to recreate concept art well and that although the techniques vary depending on what you are modeling the basic skill set is the same and can be transferable. Is this a bad approach?

wipu.jpg

I have set myself deadline of the end of the year and have created this thread in hope to gain feedback on all aspects of the process of creating a portfolio.

Any feedback is great and am not afraid of strong crits in fact I fully welcome and really appreciate the time taken to give them :poly136:

p.s Sorry if this was the wrong place to post this thread, if so feel free to move it :P

Replies

• Rogue One
    Offline / Send Message