Home General Discussion

question about what programs to use for theese tasks.

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
jimpaw polycounter lvl 9
Hi Everyone,

I am new at Polycount and have a couple of questions. Right now i am working on a game company (internship) and use 3ds max 9 for modeling and Photoshop CS4 for textures.

1. I need some program or plugin that allows me to paint directly on the model like you can do in Hemisphere uv paint. there seems to be a lot of programs today and its hard to know what to go for.

2. I also need some kind of program that ONLY take care of the uv mapping (that part in 3ds really sucks), I have been thinking about Unwrap 3d ( right now i am using a max script called Textools that works okay for now.

thank you.

Replies

• Lamont
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Lamont polycounter lvl 15
    018_fry-argh.gif
    And here's the wiki...
    CharlieBrown-argh.jpg
  • PolyHertz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PolyHertz polycount lvl 666
    Seperate package for Paint and unwrap eh? Sounds like 3DCoat is what you'd be looking for.
  • xk0be
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    1 - Bodypaint 3d is the only released one I know of. Mudbox and Zbrush also have those features though. Max 11 has that feature too I think..

2 - UVLayout. http://www.uvlayout.com/index.php?option=com_frontpage&Itemid=1 - There are vid tutorials on their site
  • Disco Stu
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    So you think theyre going to get you seperate programs for your internship?
    Bodypaint offers both but the unwrapping part sucks balls.
  • soulstice
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    soulstice polycounter lvl 9
    3DSmax unwrapping is great, just put a little more effort into the tools. For projection painting, I like bodypaint myself.
  • jimpaw
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jimpaw polycounter lvl 9
    Thanks a lot PolyHertz,