Home Contests & Challenges Archives

TF2 - Polypack - Knuckle

Hello all and welcome to my little thread. I'm new here on the Polycount forums, and as you can guess have signed up for this competition. I have created several hats before, which I will showcase in this first post, please feel free to comment in any way, I'm quite new to the whole modelling scene; my 4 hats are my first 4 3D models ever (not counting a failed first attempt at my first hat before following any tutorials about modelling).

First of all, I created a demo pirate hat. Unfortunately, it was not chosen by valve, I suspect my tricount was on the high side (in the guidelines for TF2's contribute site it says 800 polys, little did I know that they meant 800 tris which turned out to be twice the amount I used on my first three hats). Anyway, here's a nice screenie (from my fpsb submission) and the "backstory" I made up for it (I tried to emulate TF2's form of humour we know and love):

A traditional Scottish hat, often worn while out getting drunk. Associated with drunk one-eyed pirates ever since a drinking game went horribly wrong. Coincidentally this was also the day pirates were invented.

82174a.jpg

My second hat was a wintersports-style beanie for the pyro, playing into the pyro's child-like nature and the irony that pyro's never actually cold. On the top the flower from the handbag found in pyro's locker is visible. Backstory:

The pyro's snow hat. Nobody knows why the pyro wears this. Maybe the pyro secretly loves snow and the cold? Maybe the pyro's mother said "don't forget your hat sweetie, and remember to keep warm!"? That would also explain the pyro's career choice. Who knows?

82395a.jpg