Home Technical Talk

do you need a degree to become a game artist?

My q is do u need a degree to become a game artist...or can you still land a job been fully self taught, and have some back ground in life drawing.

im really interested in game art, and i was just woundering if i still have the chance in this career if i just attend life drawing classes and teach my self how to use the software? will i have a lesser chance than a person who has a degree? but who has the same standard work as my self?. As i don't know whether attending a uni and paying all that money will be a waste if i can self teach it my self? also can some one give me some good tutorials to help me learn the basics thank you

Replies

• MoP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MoP polycounter lvl 18
    I know a lot of good game artists who don't have degrees. So the short answer to your question is: no, you don't need a degree to become a game artist.

The long answer is more complicated and depends on who you are, how you learn, what your long-term goals are, and whether you plan to look for work abroad.

The main thing to consider in terms of future security is that a degree will make it much easier for you to get work in other countries. Without one it can be very difficult, even impossible in some cases.
  • Gav
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Gav quad damage
    No, you do not 'need' a degree or any formal education.

The only time my schooling has actually come into play is when I needed to obtain a work visa for different country. Even then, my experience was more important, but have a piece of paper showing some formal education (1 year) impresses border officials and - in my case - was necessary under NAFTA rules.

But, in regards to getting a job at a local company - if you're a good fit, you're a good fit. There's plenty of other things employers consider before what school you went to. This topic has been covered MANY times here - don't be fraid to search for it.