Home General Discussion

sandbox 2 vs unreal ed 3

I've been using udk lately an I'm on the verge of completing a project and am considering using the cryengine 2 sandbox editor after its done. just because I'll probably convert to sandbox 3 when and if it's released. since I'm not creating commercial titles, the better graphics are really attractive. before I convert tho, I need opinions on several things:

- sandbox 2 flowgraph editor versus unreal kismet

- general ease of use

- model import pipeline ease of use

- is sandbox's material editor better that unreal 3's?

- which optimizes better

-which provides better terrain editing (the cryengine's voxels look really neat)

- which is better for rapid developement

- will cryengine 3's ai editor be worth the switch?

keep in mind that I am an artist whose programming knowledge is limited to hello world in python

Replies

• Justin Meisse
    Offline / Send Message
    Justin Meisse polycounter lvl 18
    Unreal Ed wins for ease of use, pipeline and material editor

Sandbox 2 wins on the terrain editing side but the voxel tools feel very rough and buggy.
  • mickyg
    Offline / Send Message
    mickyg polycounter lvl 7
    I'm also interested in this. It seems to me that these game editors are nearly as complex as a full 3D package, so it makes sense to know all the facts before jumping in to one.
  • dregoloth

Sandbox 2 wins on the terrain editing side but the voxel tools feel very rough and buggy.

interesting.
    could you explain the pipeline?
  • teaandcigarettes
    Offline / Send Message
    teaandcigarettes polycounter lvl 12

Fully agree with the point about the pipeline and material editor. However, I think that CryEngine is much easier to use and learn than UnrealED; basic object manipulation can be really clunky at times in UnrealED.