Home General Discussion

The degree poll!

ngon master
Offline / Send Message
ZacD ngon master
because this comes up a lot, I figure it'd be nice to have some numbers and figures to through around even if they are rough.

"Yes and I'm working in videos games or CG, BUT I didn't get a job right after school"

This option if for people that went to school for game design or whatever, and they don't really credit their school for getting them a job, but instead taught themselves for a little while before landing a job... if that makes since.

Replies

• Asherr
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Asherr polycounter lvl 18
    4 year traditional art degree with emphasis in computer art from state university. no game/cg job.
  • PixelMasher
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PixelMasher veteran polycounter
    self taught, learned mostly in highschool and then just practiced for a couple years before i got hired. ive had lots of great learning opportunities and im really grateful for all of them.
  • Anuxinamoon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Anuxinamoon polycounter lvl 14
    1 year diploma only with lots of years of practice and freelancing I finally got a full time job 4 years ago :)
  • Gav
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Gav quad damage
    Some school, lots of self education - Been working since 2005 for art, started with QA in 2004.
  • Shogun3d
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Shogun3d polycounter lvl 12
    BA in Game Art & Design and landed a position as an Environment Artist before I graduated. It helped me a lot and I think it was worth it. Everyone needs direction and I needed it when I first developed interest in the industry.
  • Steve Schulze
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Steve Schulze polycounter lvl 18