Home Technical Talk

Muscle Simulation

Im new to gaming, but have worked in the film industry in the past...

SO, what kind of muscle simulation is used in games, if any AND I hope the Doom engine is gonna be open source soon.... i wanna mod it.. maybee:shifty:

Replies

• Rumkugel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Rumkugel polycounter lvl 14
    normally none,

however CAT´s muscle system works pretty fine with games.
  • MoP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MoP polycounter lvl 18
    Nope, not really any muscle simulation. About the best you'll get currently is some joints driven by muscle solvers and baked to frame data.

Fight Night Round 4 has some nice stuff done using blended normal maps to simulate muscles and skin stretching, but it's not real-time solving of actual muscle shapes, it's just normal-map blends driven by key poses or joint angles.

Most games are still just pure joint-based animation with some blendshapes (morphs) for faces or certain elements, and the occasional physics-driven joint (eg. cloth or things that wobble around - boob jiggle!).
  • arshlevon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    arshlevon polycounter lvl 18
    i do know of one game in production now that is using real time muscle deformation, with skin sliding.. its unannounced and i don't work for the company making it, but i have seen a realtime demo of it working and it was awesome..
  • 120Degree_Flip
    fight night 3 for 360 was amazing, i cant wait to play 4
    i think i played the ps2 version also which was still great....

that game looks great...

i just love maya muscle, its kinda technichal but i guess anatomy knowledge makes it pretty streamlined... best rigging system ive seen
  • Muzzoid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Muzzoid polycounter lvl 10
    Why did i read the title as muscle stimulation?

|:
  • 120Degree_Flip
    i aced spelling, but sometimes i get tired from these 80+ workweeks
  • praxedes
    Options