Home Technical Talk

What is UV count?

polycounter lvl 14
Offline / Send Message
Ben_Flex polycounter lvl 14
I am passing a test for a compagny, they give me a limit of "1500 UV" for a model. Is "UV count" a synonyme for triangle count?

Thanks by advance!

Replies

• Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ask them for clarification, they won't mind, and it will show you are paying attention.

UV almost always means texture coordinates. But setting a 1500 limit for texture coordinates seems really odd to me (and I've been doing this for >16 years). Anyhow people usually use "TV" to mean texture coordinate vertices.

They might be using UV to mean something like "ultimate vertices", which would be the # of vertices that the model is split into by the game code. See this article for an explanation. Really difficult to calculate this number though.
  • Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yep, you should ask. It's probably a test, ask and you pass one tiny hurdle!

Or the person who wrote up the instructions didn't quite understand what they where given... Or they could know exactly and its some weird engine requirement. It would be interesting to see what they have to say.
  • renderhjs
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    renderhjs sublime tool
    I too never heard of it before, this reminds me of a similar thread (several month`s ago) where someone else had a test as well at a big studio and he asked also a odd term.

Turned out after googling, some person at that studio did not knew his vocabulary and used it all over the website. Maybe it was a internal term the studio used (like id software not referring to normal mapping internally) because they did not knew better the first time they were confronted with it.