Author : Inpw


Reply
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
trebor777's Avatar
Old (#1)
Hello people
Link:xNormalBatcherSetup_1.0.6.8

ChangeLog:

v 1.0.6.8
New/Changed:
- Bake Both Normals Checkbox: Allows you to bake both object and tangent space normal maps. This will run a separate bake specifically for the object-space normal map. Note that it'll force the "Tangent" space checkbox if it's not ticked.
- Auto Refresh: The app now monitors the baking folder, so you can see instantly what's going on when renaming/deleting/adding files the different baking folders.
- Therefore the refresh button has been removed.
- The global setting panel is now static and won't be collapsed when you're expanding another map settings panel.

Fixes:
- Internal: Changed/Refactored some redondant code.

v 1.0.6.7
- Change checkbox by colored Text
- Changed behaviour on displaying data when not using a cage
- Better Handling Global resolution (Saving, used as default, etc.)
- Bugfix on BaseName Generation

v 1.0.6.3
- Bug "settings not saved" fixed!
- Now supports mapSizes up to 32k (that's in xNormal 3.18.6, released Jan 2014)

v 1.0.6.1
- Finally added the Position Offset feature in the lowpoly and highpoly mesh settings can be set globally and individually.

v 1.05:
- Bug fix
- You can use Prefixes instead of Suffixes
- You can now set all lowpoly/highpoly mesh settings for all objects at once
- Baked Maps are put in a subFolder for each Object

v 1.04:
New:
- New Deployment system, avoid issues with access rights, easier to update and maintain.
- Lowpoly and Highpoly mesh settings per object.

v 1.03:
New:
- Suffix Editor to manage the suffix you use (add, remove)
Fix:
- Fixed a bug for baking path containing spaces.

v 1.02:

New:
- Can reset settings independantly for each panel

Fix:
- Disable Bake Me button if object is missing components
- Bug with direction map setting
- Baking AO & Vertex Color (now creates a secondary xml file for Vcolors)


################

I'm looking for some feedback/bug reports on this little tool I've made to easily batch stuff for xNormal:
Please note that it's a 64b executable (that's to easily detect xNormal installation).

UI:






Features:
- It's mostly a batcher, looking over specific folders to bake all they contains.
- Can pick suffix & extensions of meshes
- Check if everything is there to bake a map (checks for low/high/cage)
- Independant Map Size for each mesh
- Remembers "last session" global and per mesh settings
- Notifies of baking crashes at the end
- Exposes all Maps Parameters
- Tries to detect xNormal automatically

Guide:
The tool relies on naming correctly your objects. It looks over 4 main folders inside the "baking folder": LowPoly, HighPoly, Cage, and Maps.

Based on the suffix and extensions you choose in the options, it'll try to find files with the same root name.
It notifies how many files fitting the choosen suffixes/extensions are in each folder and will tell you if a component is missing (ex: Is the Lowpoly here but not the HighPoly? Has it been baked already?)

Picking a different suffix or extension will do a refresh over the folders.

Changing the map dimensions for an object will (re)generate its xml file with the current map settings at this moment.

And changing the map settings (in the setting tab) will be saved independantly for later use. But it'll not regenerate the objects xml files. (only map dimensions/baking does it)

So if you close the tool, and reopen it again, you'll find all your settings for each object as you left them.

Then you can choose to bake what you want. Baking anything will regenerate the objects' xml files.
Obviously if a file is missing stuff, it'll be skipped.

if a baking crash happens(or user cancels), a notification will happen at the end of the batch listing the bad objects


So please try the tool, and give me some feedback here (or via the email in the title bar) on what could be improved/missing stuff/Bugs.

Thanks!

Last edited by trebor777; 08-27-2014 at 11:54 PM.. Reason: Added Changelog, Added v1.0.6.8
Offline , spline, 154 Posts, Join Date Dec 2011, Location Annecy, France Send a message via MSN to trebor777 Send a message via Skype™ to trebor777  
   Reply With Quote

MeintevdS's Avatar
Old (#2)
I do like the looks of this! xNormal is an awesome tool, but the UI is not my biggest friend. I notice that sometimes I tend to just chose to ignore some baking mistakes because I cba to redo my baking (bad habit I know ) this might be a cure for that.

Thanks for sharing!
Offline , triangle, 467 Posts, Join Date Jan 2010, Location Netherlands Send a message via Skype™ to MeintevdS  
   Reply With Quote

trebor777's Avatar
Old (#3)
Thanks ^^, you're welcome!

Tiny update:
xNormalBatcherSetup.exe

New:
- Can reset settings independantly for each panel

Fix:
- Disable Bake Me button if object is missing components
- Bug with direction map setting
- Baking AO & Vertex Color (now creates a secondary xml file for Vcolors)

Last edited by trebor777; 11-26-2013 at 06:35 AM..
Offline , spline, 154 Posts, Join Date Dec 2011, Location Annecy, France Send a message via MSN to trebor777 Send a message via Skype™ to trebor777  
   Reply With Quote

trebor777's Avatar
Old (#4)
Seems like no one is having any issues with it ? Should I assume it's production ready?
Offline , spline, 154 Posts, Join Date Dec 2011, Location Annecy, France Send a message via MSN to trebor777 Send a message via Skype™ to trebor777  
   Reply With Quote

Stromberg90's Avatar
Old (#5)
Would be nice to set a custom prefix, cause I used "lowpoly" instead of "LowPoly" and then it did not get picked up, so I had to go trough the files and change the names.

I really like the way it is setup though with different folders, makes it really easy to save it out and go from the 3d app

Edit: for some reason my bakes fail though, don't know why, but if there is any info you want please tell.

Last edited by Stromberg90; 10-15-2013 at 03:24 AM..
Andreas StrÝmberg
Portfolio - www.strombergart.com
Offline , dedicated polycounter, 1,561 Posts, Join Date May 2010, Location Norway Send a message via Skype™ to Stromberg90  
   Reply With Quote

trebor777's Avatar
Old (#6)
ah cheers for the feedback
I'll add a small prefix manager so you can add as many suffixes you need ^^ easily saved in the session xml
I'd be interested to see a screenshot before you bake (looking at the setup)
and does the bake work when you go through xNormal instead ?
Offline , spline, 154 Posts, Join Date Dec 2011, Location Annecy, France Send a message via MSN to trebor777 Send a message via Skype™ to trebor777  
   Reply With Quote

Stromberg90's Avatar
Old (#7)
I can show you, I have baked the meshes with xnormal earlier, so it should not be a program, have tried both with and whithout cage.
Andreas StrÝmberg
Portfolio - www.strombergart.com
Offline , dedicated polycounter, 1,561 Posts, Join Date May 2010, Location Norway Send a message via Skype™ to Stromberg90  
   Reply With Quote

Frankie's Avatar
Old (#8)
I haven't tried it because I already have my xnormal batching setup but I found that ability to set cpu core affinity is useful so can bake in the background, if you don't have that maybe worth adding?
Offline , polygon, 589 Posts, Join Date Oct 2004, Location London  
   Reply With Quote

Optinium's Avatar
Old (#9)
"User aborted or An error has occured(probably Cage different from lowpoly mesh):"

Tried with a cage and without with a couple of different cage types.
My Blogfolio :- http://lancewilkinson.weebly.com/
My Twitter :- @Lance_cw
My Gumroad Tutorials :- Optinium @ Gumroad
Offline , polygon, 508 Posts, Join Date Oct 2011, Location Manchester  
   Reply With Quote

Stromberg90's Avatar
Old (#10)
mm, I get the same as Optinium even without a cage.
Andreas StrÝmberg
Portfolio - www.strombergart.com
Offline , dedicated polycounter, 1,561 Posts, Join Date May 2010, Location Norway Send a message via Skype™ to Stromberg90  
   Reply With Quote

Optinium's Avatar
Old (#11)
It's like it's always looking for a cage even when you specify i as 'off' and when there is one it generates the same error. This is wen pressing the 'Bake Me' button otherwise when pressing the 'Bake Selected' or 'Bake All' buttons I get "These element(s) couldn't be baked: element name"

These errors are generated by Xnormal btw.
My Blogfolio :- http://lancewilkinson.weebly.com/
My Twitter :- @Lance_cw
My Gumroad Tutorials :- Optinium @ Gumroad
Offline , polygon, 508 Posts, Join Date Oct 2011, Location Manchester  
   Reply With Quote

trebor777's Avatar
Old (#12)
ok I'll check it this is a weird one :/ More news tomorrow !

I'll need to know what kind of map you're trying to bake, with their settings pls. I just installed it on my machine, and works fine with a quick test, for just a normal.

Also what version of xNormal you're using.

Last edited by trebor777; 10-15-2013 at 01:07 PM..
Offline , spline, 154 Posts, Join Date Dec 2011, Location Annecy, France Send a message via MSN to trebor777 Send a message via Skype™ to trebor777  
   Reply With Quote

Optinium's Avatar
Old (#13)
I was trying to bake a 1k x 1k map on a single manifold object, the map types I was trying to create was a Normal, AO and Cavity with default settings. In honesty I didn't try just the normal or other isolated map types. I'll give it a quick shot again tomorrow as it's on my work PC. XNormal version is x64 3.18.3
My Blogfolio :- http://lancewilkinson.weebly.com/
My Twitter :- @Lance_cw
My Gumroad Tutorials :- Optinium @ Gumroad
Offline , polygon, 508 Posts, Join Date Oct 2011, Location Manchester  
   Reply With Quote

Stromberg90's Avatar
Old (#14)
I was trying to bake a ao and normal on the default settings, 1k map.
xNormal version 3.18.3
Andreas StrÝmberg
Portfolio - www.strombergart.com
Offline , dedicated polycounter, 1,561 Posts, Join Date May 2010, Location Norway Send a message via Skype™ to Stromberg90  
   Reply With Quote

trebor777's Avatar
Old (#15)
Hello !
Thanks again for your time in testing the batcher

I'm thinking of a possible bug, that I thought was fixed... To be sure, I'd like you to put your regional settings to English/US and restart the batcher and try to bake again and tell me if it works.

[EDIT]
Discard the above lol.. >.<
Instead, could you simply send me the xml generated in the batch folder please.

Last edited by trebor777; 10-16-2013 at 12:41 AM..
Offline , spline, 154 Posts, Join Date Dec 2011, Location Annecy, France Send a message via MSN to trebor777 Send a message via Skype™ to trebor777  
   Reply With Quote

Stromberg90's Avatar
Old (#16)
tried that now, same error.
Hope you get it fixed
Andreas StrÝmberg
Portfolio - www.strombergart.com
Offline , dedicated polycounter, 1,561 Posts, Join Date May 2010, Location Norway Send a message via Skype™ to Stromberg90  
   Reply With Quote

Optinium's Avatar
Old (#17)
Ditto, changed regional settings and tried individual maps and still get the same errors

I'll send you the xml to.

Edit: sent :3

Last edited by Optinium; 10-16-2013 at 01:23 AM..
My Blogfolio :- http://lancewilkinson.weebly.com/
My Twitter :- @Lance_cw
My Gumroad Tutorials :- Optinium @ Gumroad
Offline , polygon, 508 Posts, Join Date Oct 2011, Location Manchester  
   Reply With Quote

trebor777's Avatar
Old (#18)
Ok .. hum stupid question but just to be sure, you do see xnormal starting with progress bars right?
Offline , spline, 154 Posts, Join Date Dec 2011, Location Annecy, France Send a message via MSN to trebor777 Send a message via Skype™ to trebor777  
   Reply With Quote

Optinium's Avatar
Old (#19)
Yes, indeed I do. xNormal splash screen> bars (although they don't fill up)> error.
My Blogfolio :- http://lancewilkinson.weebly.com/
My Twitter :- @Lance_cw
My Gumroad Tutorials :- Optinium @ Gumroad
Offline , polygon, 508 Posts, Join Date Oct 2011, Location Manchester  
   Reply With Quote

haiddasalami's Avatar
Old (#20)
Hey trebor, theres a debug log in my Documents/Xnormal that xnormal logs all errors too. Might be worth checking there to pin the bug.
Technical Artist at Digital Extremes.
Offline , card carrying polycounter, 2,157 Posts, Join Date Nov 2009, Location Toronto  
   Reply With Quote

trebor777's Avatar
Old (#21)
oh yeaah :p I keep forgetting about it ! thanks so much
Guys, you know what to do lol ! I'd like to see those Logs!
Offline , spline, 154 Posts, Join Date Dec 2011, Location Annecy, France Send a message via MSN to trebor777 Send a message via Skype™ to trebor777  
   Reply With Quote

trebor777's Avatar
Old (#22)
Thanks to Stromberg90 who identified the bug: It's because of spaces in the baking folder path.
I wasn't passing the xml files' paths properly to xNormal when launching the batch.
I just fixed it, and it now works.

I'm starting the "suffix" manager, and when it's done i'll publish the new version. Hopefully I should have something by tonight
Offline , spline, 154 Posts, Join Date Dec 2011, Location Annecy, France Send a message via MSN to trebor777 Send a message via Skype™ to trebor777  
   Reply With Quote

Stromberg90's Avatar
Old (#23)
Yey, awesome
Andreas StrÝmberg
Portfolio - www.strombergart.com
Offline , dedicated polycounter, 1,561 Posts, Join Date May 2010, Location Norway Send a message via Skype™ to Stromberg90  
   Reply With Quote

trebor777's Avatar
Old (#24)
Here we go, xNormalBatcher :p fixed! :

Link:
xNormalBatcherSetup_1.03.msi

ChangeLog:

v 1.03:
New:
- Suffix Editor to manage the suffix you want to use (add, remove)
Fix:
- Fixed a bug for baking path containing spaces.

Last edited by trebor777; 11-26-2013 at 06:36 AM..
Offline , spline, 154 Posts, Join Date Dec 2011, Location Annecy, France Send a message via MSN to trebor777 Send a message via Skype™ to trebor777  
   Reply With Quote

Optinium's Avatar
Old (#25)
Nice I'll give this a shot later
My Blogfolio :- http://lancewilkinson.weebly.com/
My Twitter :- @Lance_cw
My Gumroad Tutorials :- Optinium @ Gumroad
Offline , polygon, 508 Posts, Join Date Oct 2011, Location Manchester  
   Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright 1998-2014 Polycount