Reply
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
adam's Avatar
Old (#1)
The very first time I ever got the internet one of the sites I visited first was HELL.com. You know, just to see what would be there. Ever since I visited the first time, I've gone back once every few months... and I still don't get it. I understand they offer @hell.com email address for $250, but I'm curious what the waiting list is for. Why do I have to send in $50 just to become a member to something I have no idea about? There's an 18-22 month WAITING LIST to get in; whatever IN is.

anyone, anyone at all know? i need to know.
Offline , Administrator, 8,658 Posts, Join Date Oct 2004, Location Toronto, Canada Send a message via AIM to adam Send a message via MSN to adam  
   Reply With Quote

KeyserSoze's Avatar
Old (#2)
Well, if on the pop-up screen you choose "redemption" instead of "no access," you get link to the "soul redemption program," which is a flash animation that has a bunch of floating questions that you can click on. When you click on a question, you get an answer in the same manner that the questions are presented (floating around on a black screen... it's a pretty cool, simple effect). I went through all of them, and here's what I got:


[ QUOTE ]
Question: can I sell my soul here?
Answer: once you are willing, it no longer has any value...

Question: how much does it cost?
Answer: how much is it worth?

Question: this a joke?
Answer: if that is what you choose to believe

Question: what do i get?
Answer: a fleeting possibility that you can change your life

Question: where can I get more info?
Answer: there are no answers, only more questions

Question: is this real?
Answer: if you want to change things... you have to start somewhere

Question: results?
Answer: none or immediate... its totally up to you

Question: how fast is this?
Answer: it takes forever, but if you are serious, things will change immediately

Question: refund policy
Answer: there are absolutely no refunds
Answer: we are just facilitating the transaction
Answer: you are re-purchasing your own property at the value that you set

[/ QUOTE ]

On the right-hand side, there is a link that reads "yes" the whole time. When you click it, you get this:

[ QUOTE ]
You are re-purchasing your own property at the value that you set. We are just facilitating the transaction. As only you know the amount required to redeem yourself, we can only accept your payment on good faith as a donation. Subsequently, there are no refunds or guarantees. all payments are final.

[/ QUOTE ]

When you click "ok," it goes on to say:

[ QUOTE ]
warning:
this is not a game. this requires a valid credit card, the amount you select will be charged to your card.
payment processing is handled by the C S I secure linkpoint system. all IP addresses are logged. any
attempt to use a fraudulent or stolen credit card will result in a $1000 liability and criminal prosecution.

[/ QUOTE ]

When you click, "agree" (as opposed to "disagree"), a window pops up that has a text box labeled "human" (where I'm assuming you type your name) and a drop down box to select an amount (the two options I see are $20 or $200). After you enter a name and select an amount, the next page is a form to enter your address, credit card number, etc. That's where I stopped.

This is obviously a scam... by going through this, people (stupid, gullible people) are supposed to believe that they sold their soul, and are now given a chance to "donate" money to "redeem" themselves... either that or I'm going to hell [img]/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img].
Offline , dedicated polycounter, 1,469 Posts, Join Date Oct 2004,  
   Reply With Quote

KeyserSoze's Avatar
Old (#3)
It's actually pretty genius how they have this setup. The way the text is animated, reading the questions and answers takes a real effort because the words are constantly floating towards the screen. Because of the effort required to actually read the questions and answers, the person reading them feels like they are making a conscious choice. All of the questions elude to pretty much the same thing, so if you keep reading them, it is supposed to make you feel guilty for supposedly entertaining the idea of selling your soul. What a fucked up scam.
Offline , dedicated polycounter, 1,469 Posts, Join Date Oct 2004,  
   Reply With Quote

rooster's Avatar
Old (#4)
I already sold my soul to totl.net for some stupid game credits [img]/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img] at least the devil doesn't have it.
www.redprodukt.com
Rich Make Game! twitter: @RichMakeGame
"You can't edit nothing"
Offline , Counter of Polys™, 6,426 Posts, Join Date Dec 2004, Location Newcastle, uk  
   Reply With Quote

hawken's Avatar
Old (#5)
I sold Soul to the devil, is that wrong?
My apps: Dadako
UX / UI Designer - and yes my name is Hawken
Offline , insane polycounter, 5,069 Posts, Join Date Jan 2005, Location .jp  
   Reply With Quote

KDR_11k's Avatar
Old (#6)
Wait, I thought it was his portfolio that got him hired at EA?
No deity could fill any of our requirements if handicapped with existence. -Ambrose Bierce, The Devil's Dictionary
Offline , veteran polycounter, 4,550 Posts, Join Date Oct 2004, Location Peine, Niedersachsen, Germany, Europe, Sol 3, Milky Way  
   Reply With Quote

adam's Avatar
Old (#7)
ZIING!
Offline , Administrator, 8,658 Posts, Join Date Oct 2004, Location Toronto, Canada Send a message via AIM to adam Send a message via MSN to adam  
   Reply With Quote

Blaizer's Avatar
Old (#8)
this kind of things make me laugh [img]/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Alberto Lozano - Freelance Artist
www.WhiteBlaizer.com

Visit my Sketchbook in Polycount
Offline , dedicated polycounter, 1,584 Posts, Join Date Jun 2005, Location Spain Send a message via MSN to Blaizer Send a message via Skype™ to Blaizer  
   Reply With Quote

flaagan's Avatar
Old (#9)
funny, the url just forwards me to Apple's online store... does it do that for anyone else?




[img]/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Currently out of the game industry, trying to find my way back...

Live to drive!
Get snailed! : Green with Envy : Mog Rod
Offline , veteran polycounter, 3,164 Posts, Join Date Oct 2004, Location Cupertino, CA  
   Reply With Quote

adam's Avatar
Old (#10)
www.hell.com
Offline , Administrator, 8,658 Posts, Join Date Oct 2004, Location Toronto, Canada Send a message via AIM to adam Send a message via MSN to adam  
   Reply With Quote

sledgy's Avatar
Old (#11)
Pfft. I may as well go to church to get ripped off like that.
Offline , polygon, 740 Posts, Join Date Oct 2004, Location Colorado  
   Reply With Quote

Downsizer's Avatar
Old (#12)
it used to be an alternate web site portal, with hosting solutions. a lot of the sites were creative media based. you could only acess these sites with a login which you got via an odd essay application. i was accepted, and dissapoitned with content.
Offline , polygon, 613 Posts, Join Date Oct 2004,  
   Reply With Quote

Joao Sapiro's Avatar
Old (#13)
god...what people make to fool others..its sad....very sad...
Joao Sapiro Josue - 3D freelance artist
Online Portfolio
Contact Me
Offline , veteran polycounter, 3,573 Posts, Join Date May 2005, Location Portugal  
   Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 1998-2012 A. Risch