Thread Tools Display Modes
hawken's Avatar
Old (#1)
Nintendo DS



suggested polygon count for performance (total visible): 2000
texture memory (per screen): 512kb
max texture size: 1024px x 1024px
screen colour depth: 18-bit (260,000 colours)
alpha blending: 5-bit (32 colours)
suggested texture size: under 128 x 128

----------------------------------------------------------

Sony PSP



suggested polygon count for performance (total visible): 50,000
texture memory: 2mb
max texture size: 128px x 128px
screen colour depth: 16-bit (65,536 colours)
alpha blending: 8-bit (256 colours)

----------------------------------------------------------

iPhone 3G



suggested polygon count for performance (total visible): 7000
texture memory: 24MB
max texture size: 1024px x 1024px
screen colour depth: 16-bit (65,536 colours)
alpha blending: free! (use PNG)
suggested texture size: under 512 x 512

----------------------------------------------------------

Last edited by hawken; 06-11-2009 at 02:48 AM..
Don't be a quitter, follow me on Twitter
Offline , insane polycounter, 5,085 Posts, Join Date Jan 2005, Location .jp  
  

steady's Avatar
Old (#2)
cool cool cool
just an idea
lets do a vote and choose one format
and then use challenges/contests to generate content and make a lowpoly polycount.net game hoooraaaayyy
Offline , polycounter, 1,038 Posts, Join Date Oct 2004, Location Baltimore, MD Send a message via AIM to steady  
  

hawken's Avatar
Old (#3)
depends which format we can get the most info for really. devs, please chip in.
Don't be a quitter, follow me on Twitter
Offline , insane polycounter, 5,085 Posts, Join Date Jan 2005, Location .jp  
  

master of unlocking's Avatar
Old (#4)
Here is what I know about the DS.

polygons per screen at 60fps: <font color="red"> 2000 </font> Well, this is true if you plan to have 3D going on both screens. Which I wouldn't recommend. A good scenario is 2000 polys per frame at 60fps. You can also pull off 4000 polys per frame if you drop to 30 fps.
Offline , null, 7 Posts, Join Date Dec 2005,  
  

hawken's Avatar
Old (#5)
there's a limited number of verts it can hold in memory - so you can only get 2048 polygons on each screen even if you're running at 1 frame per second.

It really is a hard fast rule of the hardware according to a thread on http://forum.gbadev.org/
Don't be a quitter, follow me on Twitter
Offline , insane polycounter, 5,085 Posts, Join Date Jan 2005, Location .jp  
  

KDR_11k's Avatar
Old (#6)
If you give it a framebuffer you could draw half the scene in the first pass and the other half in the second pass.
No deity could fill any of our requirements if handicapped with existence. -Ambrose Bierce, The Devil's Dictionary
Offline , veteran polycounter, 4,550 Posts, Join Date Oct 2004, Location Peine, Niedersachsen, Germany, Europe, Sol 3, Milky Way  
  

Toomas's Avatar
Old (#7)
[ QUOTE ]
If you give it a framebuffer you could draw half the scene in the first pass and the other half in the second pass.

[/ QUOTE ]

If it could only hold 2048tris in memory then you would have to do t&amp;l twice aswell and i dont know how good you can do it (i guess you cant really).
Offline , dedicated polycounter, 1,373 Posts, Join Date Oct 2004, Location Tallinn, Estonia  
  

lkraan's Avatar
Old (#8)
Here's what I know about the PSP. In the end how much of the specs that you will use depends on your engine and how much resources is needed for other stuff.

polygons per screen at 60fps: 80k per frame is what we're sticking with as the limit
texture memory (per screen): ?
max texture size: 128px x 128px (yep)
screen colour depth: ?
3d data format: GMO
texture format: GIM which goes from 4 bit indexed to 32bit RGBA. With the standard GMO model converter the texture gets baked in the binary GMO file along with the model.
alpha blending: 8bit
Offline , polygon, 611 Posts, Join Date Oct 2004, Location Netherlands  
  

Toomas's Avatar
Old (#9)
I was just wondering, so you use 256colour textures for DS now is it viable to have custom pallet for each texture?
Offline , dedicated polycounter, 1,373 Posts, Join Date Oct 2004, Location Tallinn, Estonia  
  

hawken's Avatar
Old (#10)
[ QUOTE ]
I was just wondering, so you use 256colour textures for DS now is it viable to have custom pallet for each texture?

[/ QUOTE ]

that would appear to be the case
Don't be a quitter, follow me on Twitter
Offline , insane polycounter, 5,085 Posts, Join Date Jan 2005, Location .jp  
  

Toomas's Avatar
Old (#11)
DS can do coloured lightning, that is proven by AC:WW fireworks.
AC does semi transparency aswell (embarassed animation).
Offline , dedicated polycounter, 1,373 Posts, Join Date Oct 2004, Location Tallinn, Estonia  
  

CheapAlert's Avatar
Old (#12)
P100 w/ Voodoo2 can go 45fps with 3500 polys onscreen with 5 256x256 textures on 640x480 iirc :P
Offline , card carrying polycounter, 2,021 Posts, Join Date Oct 2004,  
  

jimiyo's Avatar
Old (#13)
i dont know if this is the right area to ask, (Great info BTW!!!) what kind of polycount/texture does WOW characters and objects have? they all seem to be relatively low poly eh?
Offline , null, 21 Posts, Join Date Dec 2005,  
  

danr's Avatar
Old (#14)
(disclaimer - all the following info is apparent to anyone with a copy of the noted game) ... 128x128 isn't a "maximum" size for the PSP hardware - on our last PSP game, you'll see several environment textures scattered around the place at that res x2, and a couple at even bigger than that. 128 is however a good guide for a practical top-end size for general texture use. "Maximum" size is 1024x1024


Also - the screen display is 24-bit, but some games run in a 16-bit mode.
all you guys out there, you're gonna wish you were Al Green
Offline , card carrying polycounter, 2,382 Posts, Join Date Oct 2004, Location york  
  

Ryno's Avatar
Old (#15)
Yeah, we're going bigger than 128s as well. I did a bunch at 256, and a few at 512x256 with the intention of downsizing as needed. Apparently it isn't needed, as it is running fine.
Offline , polycounter, 1,059 Posts, Join Date Oct 2004, Location Seattle  
  

CMB's Avatar
Old (#16)
Does anybody know anything about ngage?
Offline , triangle, 265 Posts, Join Date Jul 2005, Location Canada, Sk  
  

Jackablade's Avatar
Old (#17)
I've developed for NGage. I'll have to look up the specifics as its been a while, but I can tell you for a start theres no alpha blending. It supports Targa format textures. Pretty sure the screen is 16 bit. Maximum texture size appears to be 4096*4096 but feasibly you'd never want anything bigger than 128*128 unless you're texturing vast areas of level geometry or something.
Tipping cows in fields Elysian.

Portfolio: www.jackablade.com
Offline , Counter of Polys™, 6,319 Posts, Join Date Oct 2004, Location Melbourne, Australia  
  

CMB's Avatar
Old (#18)
Thanks JackBlade.
Would this tri. count plan work good?
600 main character
400-600 npcs.
100-200 a weapon
200 doodads and environment art.
Any examples,portfolios,textures or wireframes of ngage games would be great.
Offline , triangle, 265 Posts, Join Date Jul 2005, Location Canada, Sk  
  

uk_resistant's Avatar
Old (#19)
what about extra maps like spec, normal etc etc

I know Psp can do spec maps, but im intrested in normals.
Ps2 can do them so it isnt out the question is it?
Offline , spline, 170 Posts, Join Date Jun 2006,  
  

Toomas's Avatar
Old (#20)
PS2 can render normalmaps? I kind of doubt it.
Offline , dedicated polycounter, 1,373 Posts, Join Date Oct 2004, Location Tallinn, Estonia  
  

uk_resistant's Avatar
Old (#21)
quoted from wikipedia (which actually used to say a few games that used normal maps, one of them being path of neo)

"Currently, normal mapping has been utilized successfully and extensively on both the PC and gaming consoles. Initially, Microsoft's Xbox was the only home game console to fully support this effect, whereas other consoles use a software-only implementation as they don't support it directly on hardware."


so i guess yeah,ps2 can do them.
Offline , spline, 170 Posts, Join Date Jun 2006,  
  

Joseph Silverman's Avatar
Old (#22)
[ QUOTE ]

so i guess yeah,ps2 can do them.

[/ QUOTE ]

I'm not sure that's true. Anyone can add to Wikipedia.


I don't have any real knowledge about this, but I seem to remember compaines like Ubisoft specifically mentioning what effects they were using instead of normal mapping when making a PS2 version of some of their Xbox games. (Like SCCT and GR2)
!
Offline , veteran polycounter, 4,177 Posts, Join Date Mar 2006,  
  

uk_resistant's Avatar
Old (#23)
yeah thats true.
At the very least in terms of consoles xbox can because it has doom 3.
anyways, would be cool if psp could do it, regardless of how it would look on the tiny screen.
Offline , spline, 170 Posts, Join Date Jun 2006,  
  

Joseph Silverman's Avatar
Old (#24)
At the PSP's texture resolutions I don't imagine normals would look great.
!
Offline , veteran polycounter, 4,177 Posts, Join Date Mar 2006,  
  

CrazyButcher's Avatar
Old (#25)
no real specs, but a nice overview of "same game" on multi platforms, on the left you can change to the different platforms

http://startrek.bethsoft.com/art/ta_pspscreens.html
Offline , dedicated polycounter, 1,399 Posts, Join Date Nov 2004, Location Germany Send a message via ICQ to CrazyButcher  
  

 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright 1998-2014 Polycount