polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Hijlkema polycounter lvl 5
Current progress
8d02126231.jpg
690b62c17d.jpg
0e5d4e4fd5.jpg

Hey guys,

I've been lurking almost daily for two years now and I've always been fascinated and inspired by all the game art shown here.

I've been doing 3D projects for a few years, but I have never brought anything in a game engine so this is all very new to me; on top of that I made the switch from Cinema 4D to Maya at the start of this project.

Anyway, due to a shift with what I want to do in my carreer I've decided to just go all in and learn a lot there is to know about game art by finishing a portfolio piece in Unreal 4.

I've found this painting which I thought would be a great piece to recreate, and expand upon where possible, including an interior.

1yQU0NE.jpg

Here's my one week's progress so far. Would love to hear feedback and tips on how to push it further. Thanks!

8Onu937.jpg
Oo95PDb.jpg
DdctK29.jpg
WYu59fH.jpg

Branch cards for use in Speedtree.
jNRBBgN.jpg

Fuel pump
i5vDnfS.jpg

Sculpt for floor/wall.
MdBuzvm.jpg

Replies

• dpadam450
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    dpadam450 polycounter lvl 9
    Looks good. I think the front pillars blue/red are too saturated and un-worn. The blue/red stripes on the building are much less saturated and have some wear and tear.
  • Hijlkema
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks dpadam450, fixed it right away.

Today I'm going to add variation to the grass, and also add a tree colour variation.

Here's a new screenshot of the exterior.

5395f501d9.jpg
  • QOR_082
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    QOR_082 polycounter lvl 3
    Looks great! Maybe you should look at some other references in order to provide some detail in the objects. You've got a great inspirational image for the composition, you could try now to look for other pictures to copy the style of ruined painting and stuff...
  • Cay
    Options
    Offline / Send Message