Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Roadside Fantasy INN - UE4

polycounter lvl 13
Offline / Send Message
gibson543 polycounter lvl 13
Hey everyone, it's great to be back posting a new thread. I recently started teaching game modding at a local tech camp, and it was the first time I actually met other people (in person) that also had a passion for game art. And so, I was inspired to start working on my portfolio again in preparation for applying for summer internships next year!

My goal with this project is to create a sort of forest path environment with another path peeling off to a tavern/Inn. I've always loved creating fantasy environments, and I've never had practice with PBR or foliage, so I figured this would be a great environment to introduce myself to all of those things.

Here's where I'm at so far. I finally decided to ditch using baked lighting and am now using dynamic lighting with an LPV to get my global illumination. I'm still really new to lighting, though, and I have to improve my current setup a lot I feel.

5JvAzI.png

XeiOct.png

As of right now, the todo list is to create windows for the building, create another tree/a completely new tree (this one was basically a test), change the construction of the building, and actually start building the final composition, as of right now this is basically just to see if the stuff I'm making works and looks good :)

Of course, this todo list is apt to change depending on what you guys recommend. Any and all comments are welcome, thanks for taking a look.

(BTW, I have two moniters, and one of them is showing my scene as REALLY, REALLY green, so if that's the case, then I I guess I'm just going to have to re calibrate my main moniter.)

Replies

• foreverlost
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    When you do make your finalized tree(s), be sure to reference real trees because I think the needles are way too big for these evergreens, and the overall tree shape should be taller with a longer trunk.