Home General Discussion

What are normal freelance rates?

greentooth
Offline / Send Message
Kend greentooth
Hello everybody :D

Someone contacted me saying they are interested in hiring me for a freelance job which is great :D But they asked me what my rates are and I have no Idea what normal rates are in the industry. I've never done a freelance gig before but I'm confident in my ability to do the job but I have no idea what a normal rate is. Im not a greedy person Im just happy to finally get my foot in the door but I really need help figuring out what my rate should be. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Replies

• beefaroni
    Offline / Send Message
    beefaroni sublime tool
  • oskarkeo
    Offline / Send Message
    oskarkeo polycounter lvl 10
    its what you decide to set it at.
    take into account, how long the job goes for, how hard you'll have to work (will you be working 24/7 or 9/5? how experienced you are and what you lose by not taking the job (being unavailable for other work) or what you might gain (working with a top notch team of experts to help you raise your game).

And be aware of two points:

1) if you quote high, you will be expected to deliver at that rate, so if you're a junior askign to be paid a mid level rate you run the risk of leaving them thinking you were a 'bad mid' rather than a 'kick ass junior', which may affect them offering further work.

2) conversely, keep in mind that the employer will be thinking about cost savings so may well argue your rate down.

I know you're ideally wanting a base starting point and hopefully someone here can suggest one (more likely if you can post some work for an honest critique of your level) but i think it's as if not more valuable to know how to assess rates.