Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Laocoon and His Sons

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
JabacOrdof polycounter lvl 3
This is my first attempt at modeling a figure in Zbrush! I am really excited about this project. This is focusing a lot on getting the anatomy correct and really defining every muscle and its form. For this project I have chosen to use the statue "Laocoon and His Sons" as reference, namely Laocoon himself, a large, muscular figure who sits dynamically on a pedestal. I would really love as much advice and critique as you can give, I am relatively new to Zbrush and expect I will benefit from additional eyes. Thanks a lot as always everyone!

- Eric Kilkenny

[IMG][/img]0XuV7Yt.jpg
[IMG][/img]NX69U7a.jpg
[IMG][/img]vt3jy72.jpg
[IMG][/img]1pIWI4H.jpg
[IMG][/img]z0OVMSQ.jpg
[IMG][/img]IfjsWTl.jpg
[IMG][/img]JkkIO1B.jpg
[IMG][/img]m8ZrKLf.jpg
[IMG][/img]eQYpphA.jpg

Replies

• JabacOrdof
    Offline / Send Message
    Looking for any mistakes in the cutting out of muscle groups before I increase the resolution a bit and start carving in more detailed muscles. Thanks all!

[IMG][/img]hUsDHNY.jpg
  • KingKellogg
    Offline / Send Message
    KingKellogg polycounter lvl 6
    He looks a bit thinner in the statue.
  • JabacOrdof
    Offline / Send Message
    Thinner across the hips or in the stomach? Thanks for pointing it out either way!
  • Goeddy
    Offline / Send Message
    Goeddy greentooth
    now thats a project!
    one thing that i try is i insert 2 boxes for his ribcage and for his hips, that give me a guideline for their volume. with posed figures it is easy to loose sight of your volumes.

also his but is a bit small
  • JabacOrdof
    Offline / Send Message
    Thats a good idea Goeddy, I'll keep an eye on my volumes in those areas. And his butt is a bit squished, but I mean for him to be sitting on a block but that have yet to put it in. Even so I may have to put in some more padding, so I'll be sure to check that.
  • JabacOrdof