Home Technical Talk

Complete Noob PBR workflow and pipeline questions, little help? (long list included)

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
Mirr polycounter lvl 2
Hi everyone,

Explanation Part:
So recently, I've just got back into 3D modelling. Like my old self, I've had only little experience in the texturing process of working in next gen hard surface 3D game asset creation and so far I've only covered these procedures in the low poly to high poly pipeline including:

1. making the base mesh in Maya (2k15)
2. unwrapping the base mesh .obj using UVLayout and Nightshade
3. preparing the low poly mesh for zBrush high definition sculpting by making a mid poly of the low poly version file
4. working with the really useful GoZ tool in maya and exporting it to zBrush
5. making a high subdiv in zbrush
6. baking the Low and High poly normal and AO maps into xNormal or alternatively bake the maps in maya with the transfer maps (any preferred method of baking are welcome too but considering the masses love xNormal, I've loved it not because everyone says so but because it's good at what it does!)
7. and this is the part where my hair starts to fall off (follicle by follicle)...