Home General Discussion

A great non custom computer desktop?

Travis C
polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Travis C polycounter lvl 8
Well it happened. My computer at home broke down, not worth to fix it, and now I'm looking for a new one mainly for working with 3d stuff asap

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to hardware specs and stuff, so I won't be building a custom computer, nor do I have the time to research all the do's and don'ts of building one. Seems like everyone here is going the custom built route, so I hope I'm not screwed by missing out.

I went to my local computer store guy recommended this. but after some research, it seems sub par after reading reviews.

http://shop.lenovo.com/us/en/desktops/lenovo/a-series/a740/

Are there anything out there that works just as good as a custom built, or at least, nearly as good? If so, can you give me a direct link? I think I might just buy it online.

and my budget is reasonably big for this. I'm looking for the best possible pre built one.

Replies

• Kwramm
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kwramm interpolator
    I don't have the time any more to build my own PCs, so the last 6 years I've been buying Dell machines, which I found pretty reliable. However it doesn't take much skill to replace or upgrade a hard-drive or a video card. Because of this I wouldn't recommend a all in one machine. You'll get much more out of your purchase if you can exchange at least a few parts yourself.
  • Travis C
  • ZacD
    Options
    Online / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master
    Is this for working in game engines or working mostly non-realtime work? If it's for working with game engines, you can get a prebuilt gaming PC cheaper and with parts closer to what you need with sites like ibuypower.com A quadro or workstation GPU is not going to help with game engines.
  • beefaroni
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    beefaroni sublime tool