Home Contests & Challenges Archives Riot Art Contest Riot Art Contest - Environment Art

[Riot Art Contest] - Murli Soogrim

DefiledVisions
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
DefiledVisions polycounter lvl 4
Hey everyone! thought I'd join in on the fun :) I'm quite new to 3d and have been working with it for about one year now so thought doing this challenge would be a great way to better on my skills.

I'm joining the environment category and will do a Turret and a creep den. I'll be updating this first post with the progress images as I work my way through. See you further down!

..oh and, constructive criticism is most welcome. Please give me feedback!!

latest wip:
UyeFecn.jpg

Replies

• Poseiden
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Poseiden polycounter lvl 9
    Can't wait to see some WIP and good luck :)
  • DefiledVisions
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Poseidon - thanks! good luck to you too!

So I scanned some of my sketches. Here are some thumbnails for the turret, and some further exploration of some thumbs I liked.

Designwise the first idea I got was for the turret to have something to do with trees and the sun, so that's what I started to explore. Currently we have a 2week production project in school so I'm combining that with this! That leaves me with very little time for concepting. Ideally I would like to spend two weeks on just exploring ideas, but don't got that right now.

Instead I will focus on building a strong foundation for my turret, and iterate on it later, perhaps getting into the fine detailing outside of school.

My process so far has been:

a) thumbnailing on my initial idea
    b) taking some thumbnails further - kinda liked the idea with a snake curling itself around a tree
    c) basic block-in in maya
    d) overpainting the blockin for further concept exploration.