shadacer
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
shadacer polycounter lvl 6
Hey all,
Latest:
ifVdwo9.jpg
TXIWP9H.jpg

I've started a new project, got a job so only working sporadically on this when I can. It's my first attempt at both complex architecture and sci-fi, so I'm learning a lot!

I took this concept from Remember Me as reference, and it kind of evolved from there;

VIzWFLW.jpg

And here's my current progress. I went and expanded the scene to factor in some research on the shopping alleys of Paris.

E9cBEnF.jpg

MynhBqB.jpg

The biggest issue for me is the foliage, as I'm struggling to find a good lighting solution for them. Been tweaking this as I go, but feedback would be great.

P.s. Thanks to the community for their support, you helped me land my first industry job :)

Replies

• Lucas Annunziata
    Offline / Send Message
    Lucas Annunziata polycounter lvl 13
    Congratties on your first industry job!

Already this is looking great.

A few things I noticed that may improve this:
    I think having one of the facades further down the alley be red as it is in the concept will help break up that side a bit.
    The skylight windows are really repeaty with all those lines. Try cutting 3/4ths of them. It will look less busy and also clean up the noisy choppy light on the ground.
    The tables and chairs are placeholder? Maybe add some props on the tables.
    Get a scifi trashcan in there somewheres!
    And some stubbed out cigarette butts on the ground. I have a feeling people would smoke here.

Keep up the awesome work!
  • DWalker
    Your scene is really over-lit, washing out most of the vibrant colors and causing many of the details to become lost in the glare.
  • shadacer
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the critique guys, I'll look into darkening the scene and giving it more variation :)
  • shadacer
    Offline / Send Message
    Hey guys,