Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Environment Noob Here

manilamerc
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
manilamerc polycounter lvl 6
Hey everybody I want to try this environment stuff now. I haven't done environments in a long time. I need to know everything up to date about environment modeling, new techniques, and special tuts, thing not to do... etc.

So some questions I want to know about environment modeling...

1. If you're doing a beautiful environment like The Last of Us or any triple A game that looks realistic do you need to have spec and normal for every object? Will that sit weird when it's in game and some objects reflect with light and some look off?

2. When modeling lots of props for example... A bunch of car mechanic tools mixed with street stuff like fire hydrants and bus stop signs... Do you guys attach all of them together and unwrap them in one UV? Or would you model each little prop and unwrap it by itself?

3. How do you go about modeling hills or terrain? Do you do it in a program like 3ds max? or do you use a Game Engine? For making a grass texture for a hill do you create a material in UDK and apply or paint that on the hill?

4. How would you do the ground in this environment specifically the water part
Enslaved_EnvironmentConcept010.jpg

5.Is a using texture atlas (not sure of that's the right term) helpful? Do people still do it? When I say texture atlas I'm talking about a texture textured with maybe four different textures on the UV. Then apply that texture to lets say a box. That box is unwrapped making sure it is under one of the textures.

6. When modeling organic statues like a Michael Angelo style... Is that scilpted then decimated? Not reopo? Same for tree's??

7. So here's my take on modeling environments

- plan ahead. Take a look at the concept see what can be duplicated. And organize things
- box it out. Get the main big parts of the scene
-model the details
-texture everything
-import everything in UDK (optional)