Home General Discussion

How to Handle Active Discouragement

Hello fellow Polycounters! I come to you today in search of guidance and support. I'm sure my problem is not unique and I'd like to hear whether any of you all have had similar experiences.

I've been working freelance for the past four years while putting myself financially through school. Now a graduate, for the past few months, I've been putting in dozens of applications to various studios all across the US with the hopes of a more permanent position.

My question is: how have you all handled discouragement from friends and family? I've been told I'm naive, hopelessly optimistic, and that I should focus on a more realistic career, rather than the concept design and illustration I do now.

Hearing from those who have segued into the industry, I'd like to hear how you managed this discouragement emotionally and how you kept yourself motivated to keep creating and ultimately finding your career.

For background, I am a concept design artist and illustrator with a primary focus on environments. Here is my website, if you would like to take a look:

http://www.davidloebman.com

Thanks so much for taking the time to read over this post! Your advice and personal experiences mean a lot.

Replies

• MeshMagnet
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MeshMagnet polycounter lvl 9
    Well, for starters, your portfolio links to a 404 error page. ;) (might want to fix that)
  • DLDigital
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hahaha, no kidding! The one above should work, let me know if it's still not coming through for you.
  • skylebones
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    skylebones polycounter lvl 10