MMKH polycounter lvl 11
Latest update:
Exterior view:
ZpcB4eV.jpg

Bonus upside-down view:
i2Vvpjq.jpg

Interior view:
Nqho2Zv.jpg

Hi all, I've been a big fan of UT since the good old days of the classic game. I had lots of fond memories with the game and I really like how captivating the gameplay, atmosphere and music were. When I heard that UT was being remade I got really hyped as the next guy, and have been wanting to contribute somehow as this was an opportunity that could not be missed. I wish I was a pro at doing concept art as it has always been a dream for me but over the years I found myself doing other styles of graphic work instead. But now with this contest I just have to do something and hopefully I can improve on my design before the end.

I've had a few ideas since yesterday floating around in my head but today I will decide on a "space high tech" or "space fantasy castle" theme. Inspired by some maps such as Phobos and Hyperblast.

So far I have come up with a few really rough concepts for the general design of the space station. I plan to reiterate on these until I find a solid design for both the look of the space station, surrounding environment and how the map itself would inevitably be played (would there be fun things to do and parts to go to?). The final will be an actual painting (or matte painting with 3D renderings) showing good exterior and interior views.

Idea 1: The space station built into a large asteroid.

The structure extends through the rock so that it adds different levels of gameplay to it. Players can traverse the top exterior of the station, interior, and also be able to float in low-gravity on the rock itself. A long elevator will take players up and down levels, or players can hop from one asteroid rock to the next.