Home General Discussion

Computer Build Review for 3D rendering/animation

Hi guys,

I just received the parts of all my orders for a new computer build:

i7 4770k intel processor
16 gigs Ram g.skill sniper (will upgrade to 32 gigs later on)
gigabyte gtx 780 3gb GPU
250 gb samsung evo ssd
650w 80+ gold S12 seasonic PSU
asus z87-A motherboard (got a cheaper one to save some money)

i'm a hobbyist who plans on using maya for 3d still images and animation with maybe arnold or vray as the rendering engine

For still images, i'm really not too worried since i can just let it render.. even if it takes many hours... but how long will a high quality render take (approximaetly) if i'm tprying to animate a character(1-3) within a simple scene (like the interior of a room for example) for a short 1-5 min long animation?

of course, this is also a computer for everyday usage so it's not completely built for 3d animation, but after some research, i just realized that my build is not even close compare to what some people are running:

for gpu render: 4x gtx 780ti
or
12-32 core processor through hyperthreading with intel xeon e5, etc

of course, these are like the computers that the true 3d professionals are using, so i'm nowhere close to that level yet, but is my build even capable of creating a professional looking animation? (just 1-5 min long demo reel)

Replies

• Rurouni Strife
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Rurouni Strife polycounter lvl 10
    You should be good-though buy yourself a second hard drive for all your work. That SSD will fill up Fast.
  • maximumsproductions
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    maximumsproductions polycounter lvl 8
    You're comparing your desktop hub to render node specs? I'm confused.

with some research you should of found that people will render on a separate computer - depending on what type of industry you're talking about..