Home General Discussion

Leadership in the Games Industry

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
pixelimmersion polycounter lvl 5
Hey everyone, I'm a 3d artist and student at the Guildhall at SMU in Plano, TX.

Throughout the program's curriculum, we make several games, each getting progressively more complex.

I was lucky enough to apply and earn the Lead Artist position for my team and we've been in production for ~8-9 weeks on a retro-futuristic CTF title.

Overall, the experience of being in a lead role has been very positive and could see myself loving it someday as a career.

However, team management and communication (especially cross-discipline) has proven to be its' own beast and is something I would like to improve on.

To any industry vets out there, management or not, have there been any nuggets of wisdom you've received over the years about the following:

-Task Prioritization
-Team Motivation and Buy-in
-Conflict resolution and indecisiveness
-Defining roles and responsibilities on small indie teams early on, to avoid later conflicts with confusion, departments feeling stepped on, etc.

Sorry this is such a long post, but team leadership and dynamics are important to me and something I hope to evolve in. Thanks!

Replies

• Elynole
    Task Prioritization

Overall goals should be prioritized by the stake holders. If the stake holders aren't involved in the decision process, then there's a great likelihood that they won't fully understand the work that your team is doing. This can cause future large workloads on your team, as well as undervaluing of your team's accomplishments. Report to stake holders on a regular basis on your departments progress - even if it's quick and concise. Very few people turn down a lead or manager that's reporting on their progress efficiently - it saves them from having to ask later.